Such A Deal!

Buying something on sale is a special feeling. In fact, the less I pay for something, the more it’s worth to me. I have a dress that I paid so little for that I am afraid to wear it. I could spill something on it and then how would I replace it for that amount of money?
~ Rita Rudner

 

Whether finding something on sale or getting a great deal at a yard sale or on Craig’s List, I get the same type of rush.  My biggest problem when it comes to these “great deals” is knowing when to say no.  This is especially a problem when it comes to canning jars and food that I can put up.  Regardless of how much applesauce I have in the pantry, if I find a box of apples on the clearance table at Randazzo’s ( a large box for $2.00), I can’t pass it up.  Same goes for mushrooms, lemons, strawberries, or anything that might be canned.

Canning jars are even harder to resist.  Recently there was an ad on Craig’s List for 250 canning jars for $50.00.  I called immediately. The man selling them told me he would hold them for me until morning, when I could talk to my husband and see if he agreed this was a good buy.  Although $50.00 was an excellent price ($.20 each for quarts and pints), my husband pointed out that I would have to drive more than an hour and fifteen minutes one-way to get them.  I’d be paying in gas what I’d be saving in canning jars.  Maybe not quite, but it’d be close.  Plus, I already have more than 250 jars in the garage waiting to be filled.  My belief that “you can never have too many canning jars” can only go so far.  I had to pass on the deal.

I emailed the seller and he was glad I’d let him know.  He had three other people who wanted them.  I was jealous, but knew I’d made the right decision.

Great deals are what keep my pantry full and has made my canning obsession possible.  If I had to pay full-price for canning jars or food to preserve, I doubt we’d have half of what’s in there.  And for this, I am Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

