How Clean Is Your Floor?

My theory on housework is, if the item doesn’t multiply, smell, catch on fire or block the refrigerator door, let it be. No one cares. Why should you?
-Erma Bombeck

How long is that balled up Kleenex going to sit in the middle of our great room floor? Until I pick it up and throw it away. The kids have walked over it now for the past two days and haven’t batted an eye. My husband has asked me several times whose Kleenex it is, but do you think he’s bothered to bend over and pick it up? That would be NO!

Why is it I am the only person in this house that has the ability, strength, or maybe it’s skill to pick up all the crap that falls on our floor? Candy wrappers, stray pieces of lint, twist ties, dry leaves — you name it, it is probably on our floor right this minute. I have given up trying to keep the floors clean. Why bother? They are just going to get dirty again and seeing as I am obviously the only person who cares, I have decided I can live with it.

I truly don’t get when someone brags, “My floor is so clean you can eat off it!” Who in their right mind would want to eat off a floor? Have you seen some of the things that end up down there? The dirt, the dust, the spiders, the grime, and what about the fact that day in and day out we walk on them with our feet. Heck, my floors are barely clean enough to walk on barefoot, let alone eat off. I’m not a horrible house keeper. I don’t have dirt collecting in every corner. Mold isn’t flourishing behind my cabinet doors, although you might find something from last week’s menu in the back of the fridge resembling a chia pet. I just don’t think keeping things pristine is as important as enjoying the time I have with my family and that doesn’t include stressing out because no one cares to pick up ANYTHING that ends up down there.

God forbid anyone make a comment about the accumulating mess on the floor because the minute they do, I’m handing them a broom, a mop, a vacuum, or whatever I can get my hands on at that moment and telling them, “If you don’t like it, clean it.”

So today, rather than pick up that balled up Kleenex, I decided to take a picture of it and write about it. Far more productive and it will definitely last longer, because the minute I pick up that Kleenex, another one will find its way down there. That must be one of those unwritten housekeeping laws. Job security? Sure, but who wants that job?

DSCF0354

If nothing else, at least Bell enjoys tearing it apart into shreds so I can vacuum it up.  Anything to keep from bending over just one more time today.  And for this, I am Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

