Canning Crazy Update

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I finally finished up canning the produce I got off the discount rack over a week ago.  Everything is canned and labeled.  Now the only thing left to do is find a spot for it in the pantry.  Every shelf is full and the floor has been collecting my wares for the past month and a half.  I need to order a new canning jar metal shelf.  Until then, these will have to be boxed and stored on the floor too.  That is, as long as they last.

The weather was so nice today that I had to crack open a jar of the lemonade concentrate and enjoy a glass over ice.  Although there are only five quarts of this, this is mixed with a 1:3 ratio.  Nothing tastes like summer like an ice cold glass of lemonade.

The dehydrated mushrooms didn’t stay sealed long either.  Already I’ve opened one jar and used half of it.  I reconstituted these in hot water and used them in a stir fry.  They were delicious.

The count in the wares for my haul from Randazzo’s didn’t include the seven 1/2 pints of honey-strawberry jam, 8 1/2 pints of cherry-strawberry jelly (my own recipe), and nine pints of strawberry glaze (two separate recipes, one sweet, one more natural). It amazed me how far all the fruit went and I still have one honeydew sitting on the counter for me to puree and freeze for another time.

Having an abundant variety of new items in my pantry makes me — Simply Grateful.

2 responses

    • Thank you so much Laurie. I’m always on the lookout for more things to can. My family thinks I’m a little obsessive, but they certainly don’t have any problem eating the finished products!

Leave a Reply

