April Snow Showers, Bring May Flowers?

There is no such thing as bad weather — there are just different kinds of good weather.

— John Ruski

I need to remember this, especially living in Michigan.  Yesterday I wore a short sleeve shirt, no jacket, and hung laundry on the line outside to dry in the warm 70 degree sunlight.  This morning I woke to find two inches of snow covering the grass, trees, bushes, and lawn furniture with temperatures hovering in the mid-20’s.  I know this is Michigan, I have lived here my entire life, but come on now.  Enough is enough!

Apparently we have broken every record for snowfall in Michigan ever recorded.  This is something to brag about?  If you own a ski resort or snowplow business, I could see the excitement.  Having to shovel the 90+ inches of snow this season and dressing in so many layers that bending at the waist is impossible, is not exciting, it’s a pain.

Waking to this winter wonderland that doesn’t seem to want to give up its hold on Spring, was yet another reminder of the old adage:  If you don’t like the weather in Michigan, just wait a minute.  I looked into the history of this saying and was surprised to learn Michigan is not the only place this is used.  If you’re interested in reading more, here is the link:  http://ralphriver.blogspot.com/2006/03/if-you-dont-like-weather.html.

Knowing that by mid-morning the snow would be gone and tomorrow the temperatures are predicted to once again rise into the upper 40’s, was comforting.  After calming down, I took a moment to appreciate the raw beauty that snow majestically intensifies hopefully for the last time until next winter.  Here is what I found:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Blinded by the cold and snow I nearly missed out on appreciating another Michigan morning.  Thankfully my eyes and heart opened before it melted away, and for this I am Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

