Easter Breakfast

Thank God every morning when you get up that you have something to do that day, which must be done, whether you like it or not.

-James Russell Lowell

 

Can you imagine waking up and not having anything to do? I can’t. I have woken up and not wanted to do anything but that is a whole nother story.

Holidays are especially stressful since my parents stopped hosting family get-togethers 15 years ago. Not that I don’t enjoy hosting them, I do. But every once in a while, it would be nice to have the option of having someone else host a holiday so I could sit back and let them do all the work for a change.

I was 21 when I hosted my first holiday dinner. I’d been living on my own for a couple of years and thought it would be fun. Ten people in a 800 square foot apartment though was quite the challenge. Still, it was fun and I was hooked. Planning, preparing, and cooking became a passion and by the time I was 30, I was hosting most of our family get-togethers.

Through the years holidays have evolved and celebrations have been tweaked so now Easter and Christmas are celebrated with extended family over breakfast rather than dinner. This allows me to relax with my husband and kids all afternoon and enjoy an intimate dinner with them.

Breakfast gatherings are my favorite type of get-togethers to host. There are so many menu options and elegant choices, that planning new and exciting course selections months in advance is not unheard of for me.

This morning for Easter breakfast the menu looked as follows:

  • Belgium Waffles with Blueberry Topping (frozen blueberries from picking 2013)
  • Crepes with Homemade Jams and Preserves: Tart Cherry Jam, Sweet Cherry Preserves, Peach-Pineapple Jam, Prune Plum Preserves and Strawberry Sauce
  • Homemade Blueberry Muffins (again, berries frozen from 2013 picking)
  • Bacon
  • Canned Whole Prune Plums
  • Orange Juice
  • Home Canned Concord Grape Juice
  • Home-pressed Apple Cider (frozen from last fall)

The best part of this meal, other than sharing it with family, was that everything except the bacon and orange juice were homemade. Spending quality time with family, enjoying a home-cooked meal, and sharing my home canned wares, for these things I am – Simply Grateful.

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. I love that quote! Oftentimes, when all 4 children need me at the same time for various different reasons, the phone is ringing and it’s my husband, the dog is whining to go out, and I just want to pull my hair out and scream, I take a deep breath and think “it is nice to be needed.” And I remember how when my grandma was in her nineties, mostly blind and mostly deaf she said to me “It is miserable when you are not useful anymore. You feel like no one needs you.”
    So yes, I try to be grateful when I wake up with plenty to do and plenty who need me that day, even when I don’t feel like it.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more. Being needed certainly gives one purpose, which is what keeps me going.

      When my father retired some 12 years ago he struggled to find his identity. Not having the responsibility of going to work everyday took away all sense of purpose for him. He struggled with depression terribly. Thankfully he has since found new purpose in life, which includes enjoying more time with my son, helping my mother with her business, and then enjoying his leisure time without feeling guilty.

      I do not look forward to the day my children leave the nest, but know there will be new challenges to keep me busy, just different.

Leave a Reply

