Mother’s Day Canning, Gardening and Cooking

“Sometimes the strength of motherhood is greater than natural laws.” ~ Barbara Kingsolver

Mother’s Day wasn’t as productive as I thought it was going to be. The hubby and kids actually wanted to spend some time with me — go figure.

Being an early riser, I was able to can the box of nectarines I bought on Saturday before anyone knew it was morning. The box yielded 10 quarts and I have over a dozen left on the counter to eat fresh.

10 Quarts of Nectarines - All Floaters

10 Quarts of Nectarines – All Floaters

At first I was concerned when the quarts came out of the canner looking half-full and all the fruit floating at the top. Researching this on the internet though I learned that “floaters” are a normal outcome when it comes to nectarines. They have more air in the fruit than some other types and I used a light syrup which almost always means “floaters.”

With the nectarines done and no one up, I headed outside to tackle some of the gardening. First on my list was planting the pepper plants. This year I’ve decided to try growing jalapeno and green chili peppers. I bought two of each plant — just enough for the side gardens.

Once the peppers were done, I used the extra dirt from the holes I dug for the peppers and filled two buckets so I could plant the two Roma tomato plants I bought. Last year I bought a bushel of these from a local farm to make tomato sauce. This year I’d like to see how many I can get from a couple of plants to see if it’s worth trying to grow my own bushel. I’m not sure how they’ll fare in the buckets, but that is yet another test.

Next I worked on putting a few marigolds in the pots around the plum tree. The plum tree is in full bloom. There are so many flowers that the blossoms look like carnations and the sweet fragrance that fills the yard, made planting around the tree a wonderful experience.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before I finished the marigolds, the family got up and being a “Mom” took precedent. It was time for coffee, gifts, and then some last-minute grocery shopping. Although Mother’s Day, I was cooking dinner, had to have my mother and mother-in-law over. The good thing about making my own Mother’s Day dinner is that I get to make my favorite things. I didn’t have to worry about what anyone else wants — it is MY day too you know.

So for dinner it was turkey burgers, bacon wrapped deep-fried hot dogs, potato salad, pasta salad, home-made mac and cheese, deviled eggs, canned peppers, and homemade plum-cranberry sauce. For dessert it was a strawberry Jello cake and fresh peach cobbler. I had made peach crisp before, but never cobbler. I chose an easy Bisquick recipe and am very glad I did. It was a hit, my husband’s favorite, my father’s favorite, and the one thing everyone loved. If you want a quick easy dessert, give it a try.

Peach Cobbler - Golden Brown

Peach Cobbler – Golden Brown

Classic Bisquick Peach Cobbler

  • 2 Cups Original Bisquick Mix
  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 1 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 Cup Melted Butter
  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 7-8 Cups Fresh Sliced Peaches or 2-28 oz. Can Drained

Heat oven 375°
Stir together Bisquick, milk, and cinnamon in ungreased 13×9 baking pan.
Stir in butter until blended.
Stir together sugar and peaches and spoon over batter.
Bake 50 to 60 minutes or until golden brown.

I served the cobbler warm with vanilla ice cream.

Although I didn’t get to all the canning I had planned or all the gardening that needed to be done, I spent an absolutely beautiful day with my family enjoying good food and a reprieve from the daily demands of motherhood, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

