It’s Snowing — Flower Showers!

Slow down and enjoy life.  It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.  Eddie Cantor

Yesterday, the weather couldn’t have been more perfect. I woke to a 70° morning, clear skies, and the sun blazing over the horizon. Sitting on the patio, enjoying the moment before tackling my to do list, I watched as the bees moved from blossom to blossom on the plum tree. Busy little buggers, they buzzed from branch to branch, leaving no flower untouched. It amazed me how diligent they were. I wish I could say they were an inspiration, but the sun was warm and the breeze so inviting, moving from my chair never crossed my mind.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more than an hour I sat in the sun, watching the sun rise, not feeling the least bit guilty. I knew that the blossoms would be gone all too soon, leaving behind lush green leaves and eventually tiny purple plums. Appreciating the beauty before me while it lasted seemed so much more important than washing the dishes or putting another load of laundry in the washing machine. Once the flowers are gone, they will not be seen for at least another year. Savor the moment.

Finally, just before 8:00 a.m. I pulled myself back to the reality of a housewife’s life, took my last deep breath of fresh air, and headed into the house to begin my chores. Several hours passed before I looked outside again, and when I did, I was all the more glad I’d taken advantage of the weather while it lasted. The sky was dark and ominous, the temperatures had dropped to the low 60‘s and the sun was hidden behind a sheet of gray — storms were on the way.

By noon the wind picked up and thunder could be heard in the distance. Lightning began to flash to the north as the first drops of rain began to fall. Walking to the back door, peering out into the yard, the rain quickly escalated to a downpour and then I saw it — SNOW! Can you believe it? SNOW! Well, not the white, puffy, cold stuff we had just a little over a month ago, but a white shower of flower petals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Standing in the doorway I watched as the rain pelted the blossoms on the plum tree, forcing them to the ground. Flower Showers! It was beautiful and sad at the same time. Seeing the petals floating to the ground, blanketing the green grass till it was white, was mesmerizing. With each gust of wind more petals fell to the puddling ground below. All afternoon the rain continued in waves, lapping against the tree, pounding petals to the ground, exposing more and more of the green foliage that had been concealed behind white.

This morning I woke afraid to see what had become of our tree. Storms continued through the night, sometimes severe. My biggest fear was the storms would pluck the budding fruit from the tree along with the blossoms.

The Plum Tree after the Storms.

The Plum Tree after the Storms.

Flower petals everywhere.

Flower petals everywhere.

Yesterday the leaves were barely visable.

Yesterday the leaves were barely visible.

More flower petals.

More flower petals.

Thankfully, there are still white blossoms on the tree, although now they are almost overshadowed by the green leaves.  Still, the tree looks beautiful and our hopes are high that we’ll have a good crop this fall.

Yesterday I took an hour from the seemingly too few that we are graced with each day to sit and appreciate the blossoms on my plum tree, an hour I will never get back.  The blossoms are all but gone now, not to return for another year, and I have to say that hour was one well spent.  Stopping is just as important as being productive and getting things done.  I am so glad I remembered this and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

