Kiwi-Lime Jam

Over the winter I spent many months looking for recipes of jams that I could make that did not require “fresh” fruit. Living in Michigan, the best months for canning are typically June through October, when local fruits and vegetables are harvested. I know I could buy almost any fruit or vegetable that is brought in from other parts of the country year round, but I look forward to canning the fresh Michigan produce I pick myself, grow myself, or can get from local farmers.

Surprisingly, I found quite a few jams, jellies and preserves that I could make during the winter and was able to make good use of my time during those long, cold days of January through March. One of my favorite jams that I discovered was a Kiwi-Lime Jam. With just a few ingredients, I was able to make a refreshing jam that reminded me of the tropics.  The recipe didn’t make a ton of jars, which I like, it gives me the opportunity to make it again.

Kiwi-Lime Jam

Kiwi-Lime Jam

Checking my inventory of jams in the pantry, I discovered that already we were down to our last jar, so today I worked on a batch. I changed the recipe slightly because I wanted a softer-set jam and wanted  to use some of my apple-pectin stock. I’ll include both recipes, depending on what type of set you prefer. The Certo pectin recipe will give you a very firm set, what I consider a jelly-set. The apple-pectin stock version offers a pourable product that could easily be used as a syrup as well as a spread.

Kiwi-Lime Jam (Soft-Set)

6 Kiwi, peeled and thinly sliced or chopped
3 Cups Sugar
6 oz. Unsweetened Pineapple Juice
Zest and juice of 1 Lime (make sure you have enough juice to measure 1/4 Cup)
1/2 Pint Apple Pectin Stock

Peel and slice kiwi.

I used a mandolin to slice three of the kiwi and then chopped the remainder.

I used a mandolin to slice three of the kiwi and then chopped the remainder.

Zest lime then squeeze out juice, adding additional bottled lime juice to measure 1/4 cup if necessary.

Zest lime, trying not to get any of the white pith.

Zest lime, trying not to get any of the white pith.

Juice lime, adding enough bottled lime to juice to measure 1/4 cup.

Juice lime, adding enough bottled lime to juice to measure 1/4 cup.

Combine kiwi, lime zest and juice, pineapple juice, sugar and apple pectin stock in pan.

Combine all ingredients in large stock pot.

Combine all ingredients in large stock pot.

Bring to full rolling boil.
Turn down to medium and boil for 15 minutes.

Watch jam carefully, so it doesn't stick or scorch.

Watch jam carefully, so it doesn’t stick or scorch.

Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes.
Ladle hot jam into hot sterilized jars.
Cover and place jars in water bath canner.
When canner reaches a full rolling boil, process for 10 minutes.

Kiwi-Lime Jam (Firm-Set)

6 Kiwi, peeled and thinly sliced or chopped
3 Cups Sugar
6 oz. Unsweetened Pineapple Juice
Zest and juice of 1 Lime (make sure you have enough juice to measure 1/4 Cup)
1 Pouch Certo Liquid Pectin

Peel and slice kiwi.
Zest lime then squeeze out juice, adding additional bottled lime juice to measure 1/4 cup if necessary.
Combine kiwi, lime zest and juice, pineapple juice, and sugar in pan.
Bring to full rolling boil.
Boil for 1 minute.
Add pectin.
Return to boil and boil for 1 minute.
Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes.
Ladle hot jam into hot sterilized jars.
Cover and place jars in water bath canner.
When canner reaches a full rolling boil, process for 10 minutes.

DSCF1670

I am so glad I researched new jams to try this past winter. This particular one is by far one of the favorites I made and can be made during those months that aren’t filled with local fresh produce canning, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

5 responses

    • The combination of the lime and kiwi is really unique. At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about it, but now it is what I pull out of the fridge first. Tomorrow I’m going to try another kiwi combination – kiwi-lemon-orange. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

