Garage Sales Galore!

Always trying to save money, I often buy clothing for my kids from the garage sales. Recently, I purchased a new shirt from JC Penny for my 6-year-old and was wondering why she was reluctant to wear it the next day. After asking her she responded, “Oh, the store has their own washing machine… that’s why we don’t have to wash it first?!”  From:  undefined | Great Clean Jokes

Garage saling became a necessity when the kids were very little.  It was where I bought a good portion of their clothes and even some of their toys.  As they got older, however, their interest in wearing garage sale clothing waned.  I have always enjoyed going to garage sales and finding a bargain and have a hard time resisting those signs advertising “Everything Must Go!”  Recently the kids have gotten a renewed interest in exploring the offerings of garage sales.  When you have unlimited wants but limited funds, necessity dictates.  Plus, very often you can find brand new or slightly used items at garage sales for pennies on the dollar.

The past three days, in every moment that I could spare, I have been enjoying our subdivision garage sale. I’m not exactly sure how many homes are having sales, but with 1,200 homes in our subdivision, even if only 5% were having sales, that’s quite a few to hit.

With my list memorized and money in my pocket, I headed out on Thursday and finally today I can say that I think I’ve hit every single open sale in our sub. Meeting the neighbors, catching up on the latest gossip, seeing how the neighborhood kids have grown, and finding treasures among another man’s trash has made this a pretty good weekend. One of the best parts is that I was able to find some great things we really needed for a fraction of the cost they would have been at retail.

Here are just a few of the things I got:

A brand new bike helmet - $1.00 for Zeb and slightly used backpack - $1.00.

A brand new bike helmet – $1.00 for Zeb and slightly used backpack – $1.00.

A cute bushel-style basket to store my onions in - $.75.

A cute bushel-style basket to store my onions in – $.75.

A fan for hubby's office - $.50.

A fan for hubby’s office – $.50.

Scaves and gloves - all for  $4.00.

Scarves and gloves – all for $4.00.

Brand New rolls of paper towel and packages of napkins - $.10 each and dish soap - $.50 each.

Brand New rolls of paper towel and packages of napkins – $.10 each and dish soap – $.50 each.

Brand New boxes of Kleenex - $.25 each.

Brand New boxes of Kleenex – $.25 each.

Brand New caulk with gun - All for $5.00.

Brand New caulk with gun – All for $5.00.

In addition to those pictured, I also bought one case of quart canning jars – $3.00, one case of pint canning jars – $3.00, one case of brand new jelly jars $2.00, a vintage half-apron with a towel attached to it (homemade) $1.00, 5 DVD movies for the kids – $1.00 each, 5 Perry Ellis shirts for Zeb – $1.00 each, and probably the best deal of all was a bike rack for our car that originally cost $110 for only $10 and the man even showed me how to put it on my car. Whew! What a haul!

Getting a great deal is wonderful, but going to the sales with a good friend on Thursday, Zeb, Grace, and even hubby during the next two days was a nice way to spend some time away from the house and the constant demands of being a housewife. Whoever invented the garage sale had an excellent idea that day, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

