You Dirty Dog

Cats are the ultimate narcissists. You can tell this because of all the time they spend on personal grooming. Dogs aren’t like this. A dog’s idea of personal grooming is to roll on a dead fish. ~ James Gorman

Why is it that dogs love to roll in the grass? What is so special about that one perfect spot?

Oblivious to the reality of the situation, Bell found that spot this afternoon — much to my dismay. What she found so utterly irresistible, I found absolutely putrid. Time for a bath!

Come on Mom, I don't smell that bad!

Come on Mom, I don’t smell that bad!

This was not on my agenda for today.

This was not on my agenda for today.

Is this really necessary?

Is this really necessary?

This towel is just not my color.

This towel is just not my color.

No, I am not going to look at you.

No, I am not going to look at you.

Say goodbye to all that water.

Say goodbye to all that water.

I can't do a thing with my hair.

I can’t do a thing with my hair.

I swear, I'm going to jump if you don't let me down right now!

I swear, I’m going to jump if you don’t let me down right now!

Frisky Puppy!  I got your slipper Mama!

Frisky Puppy! I got your slipper Mama!

Let me out.  Let me out.  I know I can find that spot again.

Let me out. Let me out. I know I can find that spot again.

No I am not going to chew my sticks.  I'm quite happy sitting here sulking.

No I am not going to chew my sticks. I’m quite happy sitting here sulking.

Don't think that covering me up and making me all toasty warm is going to make up for this.

Don’t think that covering me up and making me all toasty warm is going to make up for this.

Ok, so maybe I do still love you.  Just let me sleep for awhile and then we can talk.

Ok, so maybe I do still love you. Just let me sleep for a while and then we can talk.

For Bell I’m not sure that the five minutes of bliss she experienced rolling in cat poop was worth the consequences, but we now have a fresh, clean smelling puppy, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

    • Bell usually only does this once or twice a summer and that’s enough for me. If she enjoyed the bath I wouldn’t mind so much, but she actually makes me feel guilty for giving her one. What influence our pets have over us.

Leave a Reply

