GallBladder Gardening via a Sheeny Man (or woman in this case)

I am currently on Day 5 of  a gallbladder attack and can say that I am quite tired of it. Not being able to stand up for more than a couple of hours after a full nights sleep and then only in about half hour increments three or four times a day has put quite a damper on everything. Aside from worrying whether or not my gallbladder is going to perforate, spread infection, or just explode (I don’t know that this is possible, but I sure feel like it might at times) I can tolerate the pain. It’s the nauseousness, bloating, and inability to eat that is truly bothering me. My one reprieve is to lie down completely flat and the pain subsides almost immediately. The nausea and other symptoms are an almost constant.

I have had gallbladder problems for about 15 years. A bout with the flu triggered an attack that many years ago and ever since every year or so I’d get that over-full feeling after eating, pain on the right side, and feel sick to my stomach. This is the worst case since that first time when I did go to the doctor and aside from removing my gallbladder, he had no suggestions. I have not been to a doctor in more than 10 years and have no intention of going unless absolutely necessary — too many bad experiences. So I have been trying every “home remedy” on the Internet, to no avail. I think the pain is at least getting better, now I just need to get past the other symptoms and once again I’ll be back to wreaking havoc around the house.

Still, I am not about to just sit around. Every hour or so I get up to do something like make dinner, throw a load of wash in, hang a load of wash outside, fold some clothes — anything that will keep me busy. At least two or three times a day I do mosey out to the garden to see how things are going, water a little, prune, and weed. What would normally take me just an hour or two, has taken me the past five days to complete.

Three days ago I started a project to help with the slug problem on my pepper plants. Although my slug catchers continue to catch anywhere from one to three slugs a night, I’m running out of beer and the population just seems to be multiplying. Figuring that the mulch around the plants is giving the slugs the protection they require and enabling them to feast on my peppers at night, I came up with an idea that I hope will do something.

First though I have to tell you, my father is a sheeny man at heart and this has rubbed off on me. For those not privy to what a sheeny man is, it is an over-glorified name for a garbage picker. Yes, come garbage night, hubby and I pile into the car right around dusk and drive through the neighborhood in search of hidden treasures among our neighbors trash. You might think we’re crazy, but we have found some awesome stuff.

We have gotten three perfecting good leather office chairs. One that was brand new that the man said his wife didn’t like. The box was still on the driveway. I’m not sure why he didn’t just return it, but I’m not complaining, we were grateful. I’ve found full bolts of drapery/upholstery fabric, plastic storage bins, cabinets to put in our garage, a 100-foot hose that had a four inch section that had burst and hubby fixed for $3 that is now hanging on the side of our house, black diamond to outline a small portion of our landscaping, and even a leather recliner that my neighbor said he paid $700 for but his mother didn’t like so he went out and got her a different one. He just put it on the curb. What a find that was! This is in my bedroom and one of my favorite places to sit and journal, and it came with a matching ottoman.

While we were out cruising the neighborhood one garbage night, I happened to notice a stack of plastic gardening pots sitting by the curb. These were not the pots that stores put plants in when they sell them, they were the more expensive ones that people actually buy to plant flowers or garden plants in for their patios. My mind began to race. If I brought those pots home, I’d be able to have pots of tomatoes, beans and whatever else I could think of on the patio and it wouldn’t cost me anything but the cost of the plant. Hubby stopped, I jumped out, and the rest is history.

For the past month I have been collecting pots, filling some with dirt and planting in them, and storing the rest for future projects. It has become an almost obsession. Just this past weekend, as terrible as I felt, I had to go out in search of pots and came home with more than a dozen. They range from 10“ to 18“ and are all in perfect condition. I can’t imagine why someone would get rid of them, but I am not going to look this gift horse in the mouth.

With all the pots I have stored in the garage and the continuing infestation of slugs, inspiration hit. What if I were to cut the bottom off a few of the pots, slip them around my pepper plants (after removing the mulch from the base of the plant), and then bury it half way in the ground. This would form a barrier between the mulch which gives the slugs their protection and my plants. I know that the slugs can crawl up the sides of the pots and still reach my plants, but that’s where my slug traps come in. Hopefully they will be so parched from the long crawl from the base of the mulch to the top of the pot that they’ll smell the beer and forget all about gnawing on my pepper plants.

I have no idea if this is going to work, but it sure sounds good on paper. Of course, the way I’ve been feeling, this project took me three days to complete. One day to cut the pots, one day to remove the mulch and dig the holes around the plants, and today I finally set the pots around the plants, filled them with a little more dirt, replaced the slug traps, and pushed the mulch around the base of the pots. If nothing else, this does make watering the plants much easier. All I have to do is fill the pot with water and I’m done. No guessing how long I have to hold the hose on the plant to make sure it gets enough water through the thick layer of mulch.

Here is the pepper plant before I added the pot.

Here is the pepper plant before I added the pot.

First I cut the bottoms off four pots.

First I cut the bottoms off four pots.

The mulch pulled away and the pot slid around the pepper plant.

The mulch pulled away and the pot slid around the pepper plant.

Under the mulch there was lots of slugs.

Under the mulch there was lots of slugs.

More slugs.

More slugs.

The pot sunk into the ground, more dirt added, and the slug trap buried.

The pot sunk into the ground, more dirt added, and the slug trap buried.

Watering is much easier.  All I do is fill the pot and go.

Watering is much easier. All I do is fill the pot and go.

It amazes me what people get rid of. Every week there are televisions with signs on them saying “Works Perfect – Remote Attached,” furniture that is worn but certainly has a few good years left in it, toilets that have been ripped out during bathroom remodeling, lawn furniture, office furniture, and a ton of other things that I don’t see because it’s not what I’m looking for. All these things are perfectly good but are no longer needed or wanted because people have upgraded, outgrown, or tired of them. I’d say that it is such a waste, but obviously it isn’t. Hubby and I have certainly found some great treasures among the trash, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

6 responses

  1. Sounds like its really been rough – here’s hoping you’re feeling better quickly! (And that the slugs are finally thwarted!)

  2. I’m so sorry about your gall bladder. I had never heard of that before. It sounds awful. The garbage picking sounds like fun. My son’s girlfriend turned him on to this, and they have gotten some great stuff.

Leave a Reply

