Parishing Pineapples

Sitting around doing nothing is not something I do well. Actually I am quite terrible at it, thus why I have been in bed for the past four hours after insisting on getting up and doing more than my body was ready to handle. If this gallbladder thing doesn’t resolve itself soon, I may very well go crazy.

For the past two mornings, when I’ve gotten up, I’ve felt good. In fact, today I felt really good until about noon. Then I started getting fatigued and achy. Being stubborn, or maybe just stupid (the jury is still out on that one), I decided to push myself to the absolute limits — and here I am in bed, anxiously waiting for the sun to set so I can go to sleep and end this day. It’s not so much that I want this day to end, as I want tomorrow to start because it is my hope that after a good night’s sleep, I’ll be better again. Keep your fingers crossed.

So what was so darn important that I had to push myself beyond my current hindered capacity?

I had a dozen pineapples sitting on my kitchen table that I bought nearly a week ago. When I bought them I had every intention of making some wonderful things with them, and still do. Trouble is that they are ripening faster than I would like and seeing as I neglected to move them to the basement where it is much cooler and far less humid, something had to be done.

Without much energy or inspiration I took six of the twelve and made a family favorite snack — Dried Pineapple. I really wanted to make this because for my birthday my parents gave me a new food dehydrater this past weekend and I was dying to try it.

The brand new food dehydrator my parents got me for my birthday.

The brand new food dehydrater my parents got me for my birthday.

Dried pineapple is easy enough, just time-consuming. It took about an hour an a half standing on the hard kitchen floor to fill the dehydrator and scrape all the pulp from the shells for a later project.

Three of the twelve ripening pineapples.

Three of the twelve ripening pineapples.

First I sliced off the tops.

First I sliced off the tops.

Next I screwed my handy-dandy pineapple corer into the pineapple.

Next I screwed my handy-dandy pineapple corer into the pineapple.

8 to 10 full turns later, the pineapple is cored.

8 to 10 full turns later, the pineapple is cored.

The pineapple slices.

The pineapple slices.

The pineapple slices on the dehydrator rack.

The pineapple slices on the dehydrator rack.

Once the racks were full, I then cleaned the pineapple shells so I’d have the pulp for another project when I’m up to it (or not up to but stupid enough to try before I’m completely better).

The cored pineapple.  This still has  lots of pulp that is great for other recipes.

The cored pineapple. This still has lots of pulp that is great for other recipes.

The shells after I scraped out all the sweet usable meat.

The shells after I scraped out all the sweet usable meat.

A full bowl of pineapple scrap for later projects.

A full bowl of pineapple scrap for later projects.

That’s six down and six to go. A manageable amount, don’t you think?  Trouble is that while I’ve been sitting here in bed, fatigue in my legs and back driving me crazy, and trying very hard not to be crabby with everyone, I decided to research recipes for canning with pineapple. I had two recipes on my Canning To Do List already, but found three more. You know what that means? Yep, tomorrow I’m off to buy twelve more pineapples while they are still on sale for $.99 each. This time though they are going in the basement.

I might not always allow my body to recoup as much as it needs to, but today while suffering a slight relapse I found some really fun recipes to try and a couple great ideas to put my own spin on, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

