Grow Garden Grow!

Finally getting the garden back up to date. It amazes me how fast it can get behind. A week of neglect and the weeds were starting to take over. Today I put the last of the pots with the bottoms cut out around the brussel spouts, broccoli, kale, and squash plants. Then I fed the tomatoes and other vegetables. It is supposed to rain all this coming week so I am glad everything is neat, fed, and ready for the heat and rain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tomato Plants!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tomato suckers:

Tomato sucker that was rooted in a jar of water

Tomato sucker that was rooted in a jar of water

Suckers from jars of water,

Suckers from jars of water,

Sucker planted directly in pot.

Sucker planted directly in pot.

Pots with bottoms cut out placed in ground around plants in garden.

DSCF2203 DSCF2205 DSCF2206

Pepper plants with pots and slug catchers.

DSCF2207

These are all pots that I found in people’s garbage and saved from a landfill.  They are now being used to grow beans, tomatoes, scallions, peas and dill.

Everything in the garden is up-to-date for the moment and I am relieved.  With a week full of rain and hot temperatures ahead I am hopeful that there will be some substantial growth.  Already there has been some progress in all the plants, especially the plum tree and tomato plants and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

    • Thank you. I’m really trying to make a go at gardening this year. I hope my efforts are rewarded — but if not in a bountiful harvest, I have truly enjoyed the time I have spent in the garden and outside so it is a win-win either way. It is calming and peaceful. Something I missed all the years I begrudged my garden as it was taken over by weeds, bugs, and rabbits.

  1. Your garden looks great!! And thanks for the tip about the tomato suckers. We’ve pulled a few off to try as well. I can’t believe how many pots your neighbors have tried to throw away! Glad to know you’re putting them to good use!

    • Yes, there have been a lot of pots to save from the garbage trucks. This past week there wasn’t a single one and I was disappointed. I have used every one I have. I guess maybe it’s time to concentrate on what I have and make sure they are well taken care of.

      I hope your suckers do well. Mine are still doing pretty good and I’m giving some to my father this weekend. They just keep growing!

Leave a Reply

