Summer Canning Basics – Strawberry & Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam

Driving out to Blake’s Big Apple in Armada a little over a week ago to pick fresh Michigan strawberries, I could hardly wait to taste that first berry. Capturing that sweet flavor and canning it to enjoy all through the winter, I knew Strawberry Jam was at the top of my canning list. Last year I canned one batch of strawberry jam and one batch of strawberry jelly and ran out of both before the winter was half over. This year I was bound and determined not to allow that to happen.

Besides plain strawberry jam, I decided to try working with rhubarb. I am not a celery fan and because rhubarb resembles celery in looks, I had never tried it, let alone cooked with it. What a shame. After I got my first tart taste of rhubarb blended with the sweet strawberries, I was sorry I’d only bought four bundles of rhubarb while at Blake’s. This led to another trip to Blake’s a few days later and picking nearly 10 pounds of it, which actually turned out not to be enough. Next year I’ll pick at least 20 pounds, as I didn’t get to half of the rhubarb recipes I wanted to try.

Using Clear Jel as my thickener worked out great. I might increase the Clear Jel slightly for the strawberry jam, but the second version of the strawberry-rhubarb jam the amount was perfect. I made two versions of the strawberry-rhubarb because the strawberry flavor was too overwhelming in the first. The second version is much tarter and the rhubarb flavor was far more intense. Here are my recipes.

Strawberry Jam

DSCF2642

8 Cups Sliced Strawberries = 5 1/2 Cups Crushed
5 Cups Sugar
1/4 Cup Lemon Juice
5 Tablespoons Clear Jel dissolved in 1/4 Cup Water

Crush berries in large stock pot.
Add sugar, lemon juice, and dissolved Clear Jel.
Bring slowly to a boil.
Boil for one minute.
Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes.
Pack into hot jars, seal and boil in water bath for 10 minutes.

Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam (Version 1)

DSCF2643

2 1/2 Cups Crushed Strawberries
1 3/4 Cups Chopped Rhubarb (I dice mine)
5 Cups Sugar
1/4 Cup Lemon Juice
5 Tablespoons Clear Jel dissolved in 1/4 Cup Water

Crush berries in large stock pot.
Dice Rhubarb.

DSCF2536
Combine strawberries and rhubarb.
Add sugar, lemon juice, and dissolved Clear Jel.

DSCF2538
Bring slowly to a boil.
Boil for one minute.
Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes.
Pack into hot jars, seal and boil in water bath for 10 minutes.

Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam (Version 2 – Tart)

3 Cups Crushed Strawberries
3 Chopped Rhubarb (I dice mine)
4 Cups Sugar
1/4 Cup Lemon Juice
5 Tablespoons Clear Jel dissolved in 1/4 Cup Water

Crush berries in large stock pot.
Dice Rhubarb.
Combine strawberries and rhubarb.
Add sugar, lemon juice, and dissolved Clear Jel.
Bring slowly to a boil.
Boil for one minute.
Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes.
Pack into hot jars, seal and boil in water bath for 10 minutes.

I can’t believe I waited more than 45 years to try rhubarb. Why oh why was I so closed-minded? Well, I am definitely going to remedy this, starting this year. With two batches of strawberry-rhubarb jam in the pantry, we should be set for the winter. Plus, I just had to make a strawberry-rhubarb pie which then led to canning strawberry-rhubarb pie filling, those recipes coming tomorrow. Thanks Caitlin from The Babbling Botanist (http://thebabblingbotanist.com/2014/04/21/strawberry-rhubarb-jam/) for your recipes using rhubarb which inspired me to give this a try, for this I am — Simply Grateful.

5 responses

  1. Strawberry rhubarb is our family favorite… I had three lovely adult rhubarb plants until they put in city sewer last fall… now I have none. I hate to buy what i can grow so I will be jamless this year

  2. Pingback: Clear Jel is the Clear Winner | Simply Grateful Housewife

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Jam « Simply Grateful Canning

Leave a Reply

