Sunday Harvest

A bountiful harvest 7/20/14

A bountiful harvest 7/20/14

What a great day in my garden.  Tonight I worked on thinning the beets a bit and decided to harvest those that were the size I wanted for canning.  I ended up with 19 beets.  The four I harvested the other day were served tonight with dinner and everyone agreed they were far superior to any we’ve eaten from the store.

Beets

Beets

Trimmed Beets

Trimmed Beets

Cucumbers have been a staple for breakfast and dinner for a couple of days, but after todays harvest of 11 pickles, I’m considering trying a small batch of dill pickle relish.  I’ll have to see how my schedule looks tomorrow.

Pickles

Pickles

The pepper plants are really thriving, so I decided to clean them up a bit and pick what peppers there were.  I was hoping to have enough to can, but 23 jalapeno peppers is enough for maybe one jar.  I’ll have to see if I can freeze them before canning.  The chili peppers can be roasted and frozen so there isn’t a problem with those.

Jalepeno Peppers

jalapeno Peppers

Chili Peppers

Chili Peppers

One lonely tomato today, but that’s okay.  I just popped it in the freezer with the bag I’ve been collecting throughout the week and when I have enough to can puree or paste, I’ll take them out and can.

Roma Tomato

Roma Tomato

The next few days are supposed to be near 90 and humid.  This is absolutely perfect for the garden and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

2 responses

    • I planted only four pepper plants. In the past I have never had any luck growing peppers. This year I chose jalapeno and chili peppers, ones I’ve never tried and they are doing very well. Of course I also read up on them unlike when I planted peppers before. Next year I want to plant Romanian Sweet Bells, Green Bell, and Red Bell peppers as well. This will mean at least three of each and probably more like six of the Romanian. I typically buy a bushel of the Romanian ones each year to can pickled peppers. Next year I’d like to eliminate the middle-man.

Leave a Reply

