Kiwi Lemon-Lime Concentrate

Whether you call it a weakness or an obsession, whenever I find a good deal on any fruit or vegetable in the produce area at our local grocery store, I just can’t pass it up.  Even if I have no idea what I’m going to do with, don’t really need it, or don’t have the time to do anything with it, I have to have it.

A week and a half back I found six-packs of kiwi for $1.00 and…you guessed it, I couldn’t pass it up.  I picked up three packages. For more than 10 days these kiwi have haunted me.  Every time I’ve been in the kitchen, which let’s face it is more often than not, I looked at those kiwi, cursing myself for buying them, wondering what I was thinking, and worrying what I was going to make with them before they spoiled.

Having more than enough jams in the pantry, I decided to try another concentrate.  Not that I don’t have enough of these in the pantry too, but there are far less concentrates than jams.  So, this morning I opened the clamshell packs of kiwi and set to work.

Kiwi Lemon-Lime Concentrate

DSCF2934

  • 18 Kiwi, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 Cups Lemon Juice
  • 2 Cups Lime Juice
  • 6 Cups Sugar

Put all ingredients in a large stock pot.

DSCF2930

Using a stick blender, puree the kiwi until smooth.

DSCF2931

Heat mixture over medium-high heat until it reaches 190 degrees.  Remove from heat and strain.  Fill jars leaving 1/4 inch head space and boil in water bath for 30 minutes.

This concentrate if very mild and refreshing.  To reconstitute I would start with a 1:1 ratio (one part water to one part concentrate).  I liked it with one and half parts water to one part concentrate.

Bargains are a great way to try new recipes and experiment with little cost.  Today I followed through on a bargain that I found quite some time ago before it spoiled, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

