Sunday Garden Harvest

The cucumbers keep coming.  Today Grace harvested 22 cucumbers and there are more on the vines, but I was too tired to go through the a-frame to pick them.  Tomorrow is another day.

DSCF1115

This is my favorite one -- nice a chubby.

This is my favorite one — nice a chubby.

The cherry, Roma, and patio tomato plants are starting to produce more tomatoes and pretty soon I should have  enough Roma tomatoes saved up to make my first batch of tomato puree.

DSCF1114

The big surprise when I went out to the garden today was the broccoli.  With all the cabbage butterflies flying around and all the cabbage worms that are decimating my Brussel sprouts, I thought for sure that the broccoli was doomed as well.  I guess I was wrong.  It looks wonderful.  Not sure how this grows or when to pick, so I’ll be doing a bit of reading tonight.  For now though I’m excited to have a little fresh broccoli with dinner in a few weeks.

DSCF1112

The plums continue to darken and turn purple.  They are still quite hard and tart, but I’m sure with the nice weather that is predicted for the coming week, we’ll be swimming in plums very shortly.

A glorious day for the garden.  I made another batch of pickles this morning and plan on making some sweet relish tomorrow.  The pantry is filling and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

6 responses

    • Thank you for stopping by. Hubby doesn’t like Romas but I planted them for paste and puree this year. I usually buy a bushel or two from local farmers, but thought that it would be fun to try and grow my own bushel. So far I have a gallon bag full in the freezer and the plants are still full of green ones. I might not get a full bushel this year, but there is always next.

  1. How beautiful and how abundant! All that from a little backyard garden, how impressive! You’re efforts are sooo paying off, eh? What a wonderful show of your new gardening, old photography, new blogging, old canning and all-around homemaking skills! How talented! So glad that your garden and orchard-of-one are co-operating so nicely. It was a delightful read.
    P.S. This is the first time that I’ve every left a reply on a blog!

    • Thank you so much! I am so happy that my blog was the first place you ever left a comment.

      The plum tree is really thriving and Hubby tells me that this weekend I might have to start thinking about what to do with all the plums. I am still working through all the stuff I canned last year, so it will be fun to find some new things. Canning plum pie filling will be one, as last year I froze it.

      The garden has been a lot of work but what I used to find tedious and boring, I am now finding therapeutic and calming. Age does that. I can honestly say I like pulling out the weeds and watering. Such as sense of accomplishment.

      Thank you for your comment and hope to see you again. 😉

  2. I bought an 8-pack of pickles but I think there was more than one plant in a few of the sections. I did not separate them but just planted them under the a-frame, hoping for the best. So far so good. Although it has started to slow down quite a bit. Still, I’m very happy with the harvest we’ve been getting.

Leave a Reply

