Drinking Blueberries

When I first came across a recipe for a blueberry-lemonade concentrate I wasn’t sure that it sounded very appetizing.  In fact it didn’t sound good at all. Although I like blueberries, they are one of my favorite fruits, the thought of drinking blueberry juice just didn’t appeal to me.  So when I made a batch, my expectations were not high.  To my surprise, it was very good.  So good that I had to make two more batches just to be sure we’d have enough to get through the winter.

Blueberry-Lemonade Concentrate

  • 6 Cups Blueberries
  • 4 Cups Lemon Juice
  • 6 Cups White Sugar

Wash blueberries.  Place berries in large stock pot and puree with stick blender.

DSCF3151

Add lemon juice and sugar.  Stir to combine.  Cook over medium-high heat until mixture reaches 190 degrees.  Strain mixture.  Return strained juice to pot and return to boil.  Ladle hot mixture into hot jars leaving 1/4 inch head space.  Wipe rims, apply lids and bands, and water bath process for 15 minutes.

I am absolutely in love with concentrates and juice from fresh fruit.  This is definitely one that I will be making again next year and possibly sooner if I run out, as you can use frozen blueberries, which I have lots of in the freezer.

So, what I thought would not be tasty in the least turned out to be a new favorite because I didn’t let my narrow-mindedness cloud my determination to try canning new things, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

