Plum Done!

Other than a handful of stragglers on the tree, plums are done here at our house for the year.  Plum juice, plum pie filling, plum barbecue sauce, and asian plum sauce now stock the pantry.  Of course now that I’m done with the plums, I’ve come up with a few other ways I could use more plums, but these will hold until next year.

Of the new recipes I tried this year using plums the Asian plum sauce and plum barbecue sauce are the ones I’m not sure will be repeaters.  The Asian plum sauce tasted pretty good, but the true test for this sauce will be on some homemade egg rolls.

Asian Plum Sauce

DSCF3792

  • 2 1/2 Pounds pitted and chopped plums (I put mine through a food processor)
  • 1/2 Cup Cider Vinegar
  • 1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup White Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup Soy Sauce
  • 1 tsp. Minced Garlic
  • 2 tsp. Ground Ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes

Combine all ingredients in stainless steel stock pot and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 1 hour till sauce has thickened. Puree sauce till a fairly smooth consistency using a stick/immersion blender.  Ladle into hot jars leaving 1/4 inch head space.  Remove air bubbles and wipe rims.  Place lids and rings on jars and process 10 minutes in water bath.

I am anxious to try a jar of this with some egg rolls and Grace has been after me to unfreeze a few that I had left over last time I made them.  Sounds like a great evening snack.  This sauce isn’t like the sauce served in local restaurants with egg rolls, but as of yet I have been unable to find one anywhere on the Internet.  Apparently, just like War Su Gai/Almond Boneless Chicken, this egg roll sauce is unique to Michigan.  Similar to a plum sauce it is tangy and thin, with almost an oily consistency.  Perhaps someday I’ll find a recipe for the original, but for now hopefully this one will be a close second.

Plums are done for the season and I am relieved.  Having so much fruit at one time to process can be overwhelming.  I did lose some of the fruit before I could can it, but for the most part, all 80ish pounds got canned, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

