Michigan Peaches

The brutal winter of 2013/14 took a toll on most of the fruit crops here in Michigan and peaches were unfortunately not spared.  Thankfully I was able to find just enough Michigan peaches at a local orchard to make some pie filling and a few other peachy treats.

DSCF3788

Usually I freeze my pie filling, but this year, thanks to Clear Jel, I was able to can it and free up some much-needed freezer space.

Peach Pie Filling

DSCF3797

  • 6 Quarts Peeled, Pitted and Sliced Fresh Peaches
  • 6 Cups Sugar
  • 4 Cups Water
  • 1 Cup + 3 Tbsp. Clear Jel mixed in 1+ Cup of water to make a slurry
  • 1 Cup Lemon Juice

Peel, pit, and slice peaches and set aside.  Combine sugar, water, and Clear Jel slurry in large stock pot.  Cook over medium-high heat until thick and bubbly.  Add lemon juice.  Boil one minute.  Immediately stir in peaches.

Ladle hot peaches into hot, sterilized jars leaving a 1″ head space.  Wipe rims, cover, and process in water bath for 25 minutes.

Being able to have peach pie in the middle of winter is going to be a great treat, something the entire family looks forward to.  I am so happy that I was able to find even a few Michigan peaches to put up this summer, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

2 responses

    • I don’t see why not. That sounds really good. I have some strawberry sauce with big chunks of strawberry in the pantry. I think when I use a jar of the peach pie filling, I might take your advise and add a jar of that as well. Two of my favorite summer fruits in one pie — doesn’t get much better than that.

Leave a Reply

