Sizzlin’ Plum Barbecue Sauce

Using every last plum from our plum tree this year was a challenge, but it did give me reason to experiment with several new recipes.  This recipe for plum barbecue sauce turned out really good according to Hubby.  I’ve yet to grill with it, but that will come later in the week once the high temps and humidity pass.

Plum Barbecue Sauce

DSCF3794

  • 6 Cups Plum Pulp (after pitting and putting through a food processor)
  • 1 Large Onion, diced in food processor
  • 1 Large Red Bell Pepper, diced in food processor
  • 14 Cloves Garlic, put through food processor
  • 2 Cups Sliced Roma Tomatoes
  • 1 1/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/3 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Molasses
  • 3/4 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 Cup Ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/2 Tbsp. Hot Pepper Flakes
  • 1 jalapeno, diced in food processor
  • 2 tsp. Dry Mustard
  • 2 tsp. Salt

Put all above ingredients into large stock pot and cook down to consistency of thick barbecue sauce, about 3 hours.

DSCF3750

Use a stick blender to smooth out tomatoes and make sauce a spreadable consistency.

The original recipe was able to be canned in a water bath for 15 minutes but because I changed the recipe so much, I have no idea if this is safe to can or not.  I did process mine in the water bath for 15 minutes, but have it in the refrigerator.  I’m sure it should be fine there for at least 6 months.

Although I have no idea if this is going to be a keeper yet or not, I do love to try new recipes and can new things.  If nothing else, I will chalk this up to experience and have something to base my next experiment in barbecue sauce on, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

7 responses

    • That would definitely give it a little different flavor, and a good one. I hadn’t thought of that. I will definitely give that a try next time. That is something I love about canning your own sauces, you can make changes and additions to make it your own. Great idea!

  1. Pingback: Plum Barbecue Sauce – Updating A Year Later « Simply Grateful Canning

  2. Pingback: The Grill Master – It’s All In The Sauce | Simply Grateful Housewife

  3. Pingback: Barbecue Chipped Ham Sandwiches | Simply Grateful Cooking

  4. Pingback: Pulled Pork Beer Cheese Sandwiches | Simply Grateful Cooking

Leave a Reply

