I Bet You Think This Is An Egg Slicer? Not Today!

DSCF4069

While Grace and I were out in Romeo on a farmer’s market tour to start our long weekend, we came across a half bushel of beets that we couldn’t pass up.  With so much to can already on my to do list, I needed a quick and easy way to slice this 1/2 bushel for canning.

Rummaging through my granny gadget drawer, I pulled out my egg slicer.  Rarely have I ever used this for eggs.  I’ve used it for mushrooms, boiled potatoes, and strawberries, but only a few eggs.  Looking at the wire blades, I figured trying this with beets was worth a shot.

DSCF4070

It worked!

DSCF4071

Seven quarts and 12 pints of fresh packed jars are now in the pantry with perfectly sliced beets.  I just love granny gadgets, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

One response

  1. Pingback: Don’t Beet Me Up With The Facts! | Simply Grateful Housewife

Leave a Reply

