Summer’s Holding On – Strawberries & Lilacs

In May I planted six strawberry plants on the side of our house in hopes of harvesting some juicy strawberries come June.  Well, June came and went and I think we had a total of maybe four strawberries.  It didn’t really bother me because I figured next year we’d get more and the following year even more.

What a wonderful surprise it was about two weeks ago when I noticed several little berries under the spreading strawberry plants.  Day after day more and more berries popped up and even more flowers were blooming.  For the past week we have been harvesting two to eight berries per day and this isn’t counting the ones being eaten by the local cats and squirrels that run rampant.

DSCF4028

This evening as I was leaving to take Bell for a walk, I noticed all the berries seemed to be multiplying and a tiny visitor on one of them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This little guy was making a feast on one of the berries.  I can’t blame him.  They are like eating sugar and anyways, isn’t he one of the reasons I’m getting such a wonderful harvest this year from my gardens.  As far as I’m concerned, he can eat to his little hearts content.

Further up the walk, as I passed my lilac bush, I stopped dead in my tracks.  There on one of the branches was a tiny, very fragrant bloom!

DSCF4173

Can you believe it — Lilacs in September?  I’ve never heard of such a thing.  What a perfect way to end the summer and welcome fall.

DSCF4172

Summer is still here in spirit, the weather certainly isn’t reminiscent of fall, and these tiny reminders tell me that autumn is just going to have to wait its turn.  Summer isn’t leaving without a fight, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

