Taming The Jungle

This is what the back garden looked like just two weeks ago, August 26, 2014:

DSCF3942 DSCF3943 DSCF4029 DSCF4030 DSCF4031 DSCF4032

Then we had a heat wave and I didn’t work in the garden other than to harvest.  I can’t take the heat and especially can’t take the humidity.

Here is what the garden looked like yesterday – September 7, 2014:

DSCF4262 DSCF4263 DSCF4264 DSCF4265 DSCF4266

The tomatoes grew to a point of bending or breaking their bamboo stakes and then the sweet potatoes grew right over them, nearly smothering them.

Note to self:  Don’t plant sweet potatoes around tomato plants for 2015 — they need their own garden, and a big one at that!

Seeing as the tomatoes were practically buried under the sweet potato vines, I had to do something.  I spent a couple of hours trimming the sweet potato vines and pruning and re-staking the tomato plants.  The tomato plants were so overgrown that I had to use shepherds hooks that Hubby cut down for me to hold the over flowing vines.  There were some plants that were more than five-feet tall.

This is what the pruned and trimmed garden looks like, September 8, 2014:

DSCF4282 DSCF4283 DSCF4284 DSCF4285

I can actually see the dirt around the tomato plants now, not to mention I found a few plants that had been completely covered by the sweet potato vines that would have been lost forever had I not gotten in there to tame this nearly out-of-control jungle.

The hot and humid weather was great for the garden and gave it one last boost before the cooler weather of fall begins its reign, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

3 responses

    • It looked nice for about a week, but quickly got out of control again and I had to let it go because there were other more pressing things to do. Soon I’ll have to start the arduous task of clearing out the gardens.

Leave a Reply

