Homemade Comfort

The past couple of weeks have been challenging, to put it mildly.  After too many mishaps, spills, and catastrophes I finally took a moment to do something a bit different.

I have been sewing for years but would never consider myself a seamstress, in any sense of the word.  I have made all the valances and drapes for our home, most of the kids Halloween costumes throughout the years, and a few other projects, but still, my skills are limited.

Even though my sewing abilities are limited, it doesn’t stop me from trying.  This morning I spent three hours working on a fall swing coat.  I bought a pattern for the coat last winter after Christmas with the intension of making seasonal/holiday swing coats.  Until now this plan just sat in the back of my mind, waiting for the right moment.  Today was the right moment.

DSCF4670

When I went shopping for the fall/Halloween fabric the stores were already sold out of all the fleece.  I found this particular fleece and thought it would definitely be appropriate for fall.  I cut the pieces out a few days ago and sewed it this morning.

It isn’t perfect.  Nothing I ever make is, but I think it looks pretty good.  What would I do differently for the next one — I think I might line it.  I love to line things because it always gives it a more finished look.  At least a homemade finished look.

Taking a breather from everything that just doesn’t seem to be working out for me felt good this morning and so does the wonderfully soft fleece drapped over my shoulders right now, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

5 responses

Leave a Reply

