Fall Cucumbers – Can You Believe It?

This is what I harvested from the a-frame yesterday:

DSCF4802

32 Cucumbers!  Can you believe it?  It’s October and I am still getting cucumbers.

This is probably the last harvest of the year, but with yesterdays haul it brought the grand total for cucumbers for 2014 to 301 cucumbers.  Not bad for my first year’s attempt.  I attribute much of this success to my trusty a-frame.

DSCF4803

Now, the vines are shriveling and any cucumbers left on the vines are turning yellow.  It is sad in a way, but even in the drying leaves I see beauty.

DSCF4804 DSCF4806 DSCF4808 DSCF4809 DSCF4811

What I find most surprising is that the vines are still producing flowers.

DSCF4810

I think if the weather had held out for a bit longer, the cucumbers would have continued to flourish indefinitely.

It was a great year for cucumbers and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

