OOOOO That’s Scary! Spider Princess Cape

When my kids were babies, I loved making their Halloween costumes every year.  Bunny rabbit, princess, skunk, three musketeer, knight, pirate, vampire, and Red Riding Hood’s cape are just a few that come to mind.  Every year I looked forward to when the kids would finally decide on what to be and then I could start looking for just the right pattern.

When the kids became teenagers they were suddenly disinterested in me making their costumes and more enthralled with all the stores had to offer.  I was heart-broken.  Still, for several years I was able to make accessories or capes for their costumes.  It was definitely some consolation.

Now that the kids are adults, it’s hit or miss as to whether or not they’ll want a costume, let alone me to make them one.

This year, Grace decided to be an octopus and wanted me to make her costume.  There was no pattern, but with a picture found on the internet I figured I could muddle my way through.  As we searched the racks of fabric for just the right one, we found an amazing black organza with purple glitter spiders all over it.  I teased her (wishing in my heart she’d be interested) that she should be a spider princess.  DONE!  She loved the idea.  So we bought every bit of the material, black satin, and purple satin, and went in search of a pattern.  All Grace wanted me to make for her costume was an amazing cape. Everything else she told me she could find in her closet.

Unfortunately, none of the patterns we found were what she wanted.  All of them had hoods.  So I had to improvise.  Sometimes I really surprise myself.  For not being a seamstress, or anything close, I think fudging a collar and lining the cape turned out pretty darn well.

DSCF5358 DSCF5359 DSCF5361

 

Although the days of making my kids entire costumes might be over, I am glad that I can still contribute something every once in a while, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

2 responses

  1. Oh Tilly it is lovely…I also try to make as many costumes as the kids will let me. This year we bought one for Christopher. This will also be the first Halloween I will not be out trick or treating since he was born. I love the children’s costumes and walking up to the decorated homes. I will just have to make up for it next year!

  2. Oh Tilly, it’s GORGEOUS! I am sooo impressed! Later on, please, if possible, you’ll have to post a picture of the entire outfit, with your cape as the (pardon the pun) crowning glory.

Leave a Reply

