Pomegranate Syrup

In the past, when I spent time juicing a pomegranate, I wanted to make that juice went as far as it possibly could.  Adding a ton of sugar, water, or other ingredients to increase the yield, was not out of the question.

Finding a new “EASY” method to juice them, however (see my recent post Absolute Easiest Way To Juice A Pomegranate), has changed my view on this.  Now I want the juice, only the juice, and nothing but the juice.  And just a bit of sugar because sugar does make everything a little better.

Seeing as the pantry still had some pomegranate jelly on the shelf, I opted for a syrup this year.  Even though I knew that this recipe would take a good chunk of the juice I’d just extracted, I didn’t hesitate now that juicing a pomegranate is no big deal.

As usual, I used Clear Jel as my thickening agent, so I could put in as little sugar as I wanted.  Hubby likes his syrups a bit on the tart side, so this recipe was definitely to his liking.  Surprisingly there is a lot more sugar than I have used in any syrups I’ve made since starting to use Clear Jel, but that was because the juice was so tart to begin with.

Pomegranate Syrup

DSCF5560

  • 7 Cups Pomegranate Juice
  • 5 Cups Sugar
  • 5 Tbsp. Clear Jel dissolved  in 1/2 Cup Water

Combine all ingredient in large stock pot.  Bring almost to boil, until thickened.  Remove from heat and ladle into hot jars.  Process in water bath for 15 minutes.

Adding this syrup to the pantry this year was definitely a hit with the family.  The tart, woody taste of pomegranate is a nice change from the typical sweet syrups I made over the summer.

I love finding new uses for fruits that may not be the typical ones used in canning recipes, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

