Easy Concord Grape Juice

DSCF4690

Back a month or so ago while I was working with some concord grapes, I decided to give a recipe a try for what promised to be an easy concord grape juice.  I have juiced grapes in the past by steaming them or by cooking them to extract as much juice as possible, and although not the most difficult job in the world, it can be somewhat time-consuming.  This new recipe intrigued me because there was no fuss and very little prep involved — something I really needed during a busy canning period.

So here it is:

Easy Concord Grape Juice

  • 1 Cup Concord Grapes stemmed and washed
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • Hot Water

That’s all the ingredients you will need for each quart jar of juice.

Instructions:

To each hot quart jar add 1 cup of grapes, 1 cup of sugar, and then fill jar to top, leaving 1/4 inch head space with hot water.  Cap and process in water bath for 25 minutes.  Put on pantry shelf and let sit for 2 to 3 months.

That’s it!  Easy enough, don’t you think.

Well, I made seven quarts of juice using this recipe and have let them sit on the shelf in the pantry for the past month.  In another month or two I will crack open my first jar and see how they’ve turned out.

Has anyone ever tried making grape juice this way?

I’m not sure if this is going to turn out, but regardless if it’s the best grape juice I’ve every tasted or not, I’m sure that I can use it for something.  If nothing else, I can use it in place of water in some of my lemonade concentrates.  Nothing ever goes to waste around here.

It is so much fun to try something new every once in a while, especially when it is quick and easy, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

    • Yeah, you will. I’m thinking that depending on how deteriorated the grapes are I might actually throw the whole thing in a blender or use a stick one, grind everything up and then strain it. I’ll have to see how it looks and decide and possibly try a few different things. Getting as much of the juice/flavor out of the grapes I think will be essential for this to work. In the video I watched on this, the woman just strained hers, but I really want as much of the fruit in the juice as possible without the pulp. Two months and counting…

  1. Pingback: SUCCESS! Concord Grape Juice Update | Simply Grateful Housewife

  2. Pingback: Concord Grape Juice Revisited, Updated and Expanded – Cran-Grape Juice « Simply Grateful Canning

Leave a Reply

