Mini Sweet Potato Pies in Mason Jars

One of Hubby’s favorite types of pie is sweet potato, but he is the only person who eats it in our house.  It’s not that I don’t like sweet potato pie, it’s just that with any pie I eat one slice and then I’m pretty well set until the  next pie comes along.

After I tried making the fruit pies in 4 oz. mason jars, I just had to see how sweet potato pie would turn out.  I used my regular sweet potato pie recipe, but cut it in half.

Sweet Potato Pies in Mason Jars

DSCF6074

  • 1 Pound Sweet Potatoes
  • 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 1 Cup White Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • Pie Crust

Line 4 oz. mason jars with pie crust as directed previously in my post on Mini Fruit Pies in Mason Jars.

DSCF6047

Peel sweet potatoes and boil until tender.

Drain sweet potatoes and place in food processor with remaining ingredients.  Blend until sweet potatoes are pureed and combined with other ingredients.

DSCF6054

Pour sweet potato mixture into prepared jars and bake at 350 for 45 minutes or freeze for later use and bake at 350 frozen for 55 minutes.

The day I made these I baked one fresh and froze the rest.  The fresh pie rose a bit higher than I wanted.

DSCF6055

When I baked frozen pies a few days later, they turned out perfect.

DSCF6073

Again, as with the fruit pies in jars, I think I’ll keep them frozen until ready to use.

Hubby absolutely loved the sweet potato pie and told me that it was just the right amount for a dessert.  Not too much, not too little.

These little pies in jars are the perfect way to keep Hubby’s love for sweet potato pie fulfilled, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Mascarpone Cream with Sweetened Marsala Berries | Simply Grateful Cooking

Leave a Reply

