Christmas Cookie #4 – Quick & Easy Biscotti

A few years ago a girlfriend surprised me with a gift of homemade biscotti when she came over to visit.  I had never eaten this type of cookie before and was pleasantly surprised with both the texture and flavor.  My friend sent me the recipe, but reading the list of ingredients and the laborious instructions, I was somewhat turned off from attempting these on my own.

Sometime later while thumbing through a cookbook at the bookstore, I came across a recipe for lemon biscotti using a cake mix.  I just had to try it.  It turned out perfect!  Of course, lemon was good, but the family wanted chocolate, so I experimented a bit and came up with this.

Triple Chocolate Biscotti

DSCF6217

  • 1 Box Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1/2 C. Melted Butter
  • 1/3 Cup Chocolate Syrup
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • Mini Chocolate Chips

Mix cake mix, flour, butter, chocolate syrup, eggs and vanilla in large bowl.  Fold in half a bag of mini chocolate chips.

Divide batter in half and shape into log.  Place halves on parchment lined baking sheet and cover with more mini chips.

DSCF6214

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Remove from oven and cool 15 minutes.

DSCF6216

Cut into 1/2″ slices and bake an additional 15 minutes, turning once.

I love the versatility of using a cake mix and having the option of so many different flavors.  Today I made our favorite triple chocolate and then used a Funfetti cake mix.

Funfetti Biscotti

DSCF6217

  • 1 Box Funfetti Cake Mix
  • 1 Stick Butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Cup Flour
  • Sprinkles

Follow above directions, using sprinkles on top of formed logs prior to baking.

DSCF6214

Today I worked on five different cookies, so with each I froze at least half the batter.  With these I froze one log of each for another day.

DSCF6215

A day of baking and a home filled with freshly baked cookies for the holidays, for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

