Sweet Success of Sweet Potato Pie

This morning I couldn’t wait to head down to the pantry and grab two more jars of my pressure canned sweet potatoes.  All failures aside, I had to find out if these potatoes were pie-worthy or not.

I had a recipe for sweet potato pie that I’d used in the past, but the sweet potato had always been very firm.  Not wanting the pie to come out soupy, I decided to compare my sweet potato pie recipe to my pumpkin pie recipe.  I freeze pumpkin puree in the fall and when I defrost and add it to the other pie ingredients it is super runny, almost like water.  That being the case, there must be something in that recipe that pulls the ingredients together.

There were very few differences between these two recipes except for the amount of eggs and the sweet potato pie called for butter while the pumpkin pie called for evaporated milk.  Aside from adding instant tapioca to pull the ingredients together, I had no idea if eliminating the butter or adding evaporated milk would make any difference, but what could it hurt.  I adjusted the recipe and made the pie.

Deep Dish Sweet Potato Pie

IMG_3559

  • 3 Cups Mashed Sweet Potatoes (this was 2 quarts of mine from the pantry)
  • 1 Cup Evaporated Milk
  • 1 1/2 Cups Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Whole Milk
  • 3 Eggs
  • 3/4 tsp. each Nutmeg and Cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1 Unbaked Pie Crust

Drain sweet potatoes and put in large bowl.  Mash slightly.  Add remaining ingredients and whisk until well combined.  Pour mixture into crust-lined deep pie dish.

Bake at 400 for 1 hour 15 minutes.

Hubby had some after dinner tonight and gave me the thumbs up, he’d have said something, but he was too busy shoveling another bite into his mouth.  When he did finally come up for air, when I was cutting his second piece, he told me it was “really good,” the only comment was that it could be colder.  It had been in the fridge all afternoon, but being a deep dish pie, the center was still warm. He said it was not watery in the least.  I knew this already because when I cut his piece, the pie filling didn’t fall in.  It stayed put!

After so many things going wrong with these sweet potatoes, it’s nice to finally be able to check one off as a success, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

