Mixes-In-Jars #1 – Beer Bread

DSCF7187

February has already been so busy that I haven’t had much time for anything other than getting through each day.  I cannot believe that it is already the 10th of the month.  Where does the time go?

My canning to do list continues to linger at the back of my mind, but as for having any time to actually do any canning — well, it just hasn’t happened.  In an effort to quell my canning guilt, or lack of canning guilt, I decided to throw together a few mixes-in-jars and put them on the pantry shelf.

I love mixes-in-jars.  Most of the time when I am either too lazy or too pressed for time to make something, it’s because assembling all the ingredients is time-consuming and often frustrating.  Frustrating because most of the time there seems to be that “one” ingredient missing that makes it impossible to finish that recipe.  Mixes-in-jars increases the odds that I’ll actually have everything I need.

Mixes-in-jars are not all-encompassing, but there are quite a few things I love to throw together at the last-minute that have dry ingredients that can be assembled ahead of time.  One of my favorite’s happens to be quick breads and for today’s post:  Beer Bread.

Back many years ago I was invited to one of those home parties that featured food items.  I can’t remember the name of the company that sponsored the party, but I do remember it was quite expensive.  Not wanting to leave the party empty-handed, I purchased a mix for beer bread.  I had never had it, but was told it would be very good.  The next day I made it and was very happy with it. Unfortunately, there was no way I was about to continue buying this bread mix at the prices the company wanted.  My budget couldn’t stand it.  I made a mental note to keep my eyes open for a recipe I could make at home, but quickly forgot about it.

About a month ago while flipping through some recipes on the internet, I happened upon a recipe for beer bread.  I couldn’t believe it.  I knew I had to try it.  I printed it off immediately and put it on the shelf where it sat.  Finally, last week I decided it was time to give this recipe a shot.  The recipe I chose was quick and easy and the dry ingredients were such that they would easily fit in a quart canning jar.

Beer Bread

DSCF6739

  • 3 Cups Flour (sifted)
  • 3 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1 – 12 oz. Bottle of Beer
  • 1/2 Cup Melted Butter

Sift dry ingredients together into a large bowl.

DSCF7011

Stir in beer.

DSCF7013

Batter will be somewhat stiff.

DSCF7014

Pour batter into greased loaf pan.

DSCF7015

Pour melted butter over mixture.

DSCF7016

Bake at 375 for 50 to 60 minutes.

This bread is so simple to make and absolutely delicious.  The butter makes the crust crunchy and the flavor of the bread is excellent.  Hubby doesn’t let this one sit for very long.  I’m lucky if it lasts a day.

Combining all the dry ingredients in a jar, sealing it with my Foodsaver, and having it on the shelf for a quick fix, is ever so comforting, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

One response

Leave a Reply

