Mixes-In-Jars #2 – Fruit Crumble

According to Grace, “Crumble makes everything better!”  So, when I came across a recipe called Fruit “Crumble,” how could I possibly resist.

I made this dessert a few weeks ago using Concord Grape Pie Filling and then again tonight using Plum Pie Filling.  Both were excellent and definitely a quick and easy dessert for a busy day. Putting the main ingredients in a jar and sealing it makes the prep time a mere five minutes.  Who doesn’t have five minutes to make a hot and hearty dessert?

Fruit Crumble

IMG_3522

  • 1 1/2 Cups Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1/3 Cup Cold Butter, shredded
  • 1 Quart (4 cups) Pie Filling

Dump contents of jar into large bowl.  With a cheese shredder, shred the cold butter into the bowl. The cheese shredder is a great way to turn a cold stick of butter into tiny pieces.  I like this method far more than using a pastry blender to cut the butter into the dry ingredients.

Combine the butter and dry ingredients with fingers.  Press half the mixture into a 8×8 greased pan. Add pie filling and top with remaining crumble.  Bake at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes.

When I went to put the jars of the crumble mix together, I found I only had “old-fashioned” oats to work with, not “quick-cooking.”  This is an easy fix.  I just dumped the canister of old-fashioned oats into my food processor and pulsed it six or seven times.  This broke up more than 50% of the oats and quickly turned them into “quick-cooking” oats.

DSCF7189Note that at the top of the jar there are some mini marshmallows.  I read somewhere that these are supposed to stop the brown sugar from getting hard.  I’ve never tried this before and with the jar being sealed by my Foodsaver it might not be necessary, but I figured it couldn’t hurt.  I’ll just take the marshmallows out before dumping the mix in the bowl.

Crumble is definitely a crowd pleaser around our house, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

One response

  1. Pingback: Mixes In Jars #8 – Cobbler Mix | Simply Grateful Housewife

Leave a Reply

