Tricks Of The Trade – Mixes In Jars #10 Beer Batter

The more years I spend in the kitchen, the more I learn.  Cooking is one of those things that has a never-ending learning curve which is a good thing.

Today I decided to try out another mixes-in-jars recipe I found on the internet.  After trying so many of these recipes, I have come to expect that some recipes are not going to work.  So often I have prepared a recipe as written only to find out that it is not as promised.  One aspect especially that is often lacking is the ability for the mix to fit in a jar.

Several of the recipes I’ve worked on haven’t even come close to fitting in a quart jar.  One actually had more than 6 cups of dry ingredients — what canning jar holds 6 cups?  Okay, so a 1/2 gallon jar would hold it, but talk about wasted space.  The ones that didn’t work I played with until I came up with a recipe that would fit in a canning jar or scrapped the recipe altogether.  Why someone would put a recipe on the internet that hasn’t been tested or isn’t correct, I just don’t get.

Anyway, today I decided test a recipe for a beer batter mix.  Although this recipes ingredients do not fill a pint jar, they come close enough for it to still seal nicely.  The batter itself is very good and one that I will gladly put on the shelf.  What I learned from trying this recipe however is a trick that for some reason I never thought to use when making onion rings.

After preparing the batter and dipping one onion ring in it to test, I dropped it in the boiling oil only to watch as bead after bead of the batter pulled away from the onion and floated to the top of the oil.  This used to happen when I deep-fried chicken or fish, but what I discovered years ago was that dipping the meat in flour prior to the batter cut down on the batter falling off.  So…why couldn’t this work with onion rings.

I dipped the onion rings in milk,

DSCF8045

the flour,

DSCF8046

then the batter,

DSCF8049

and finally the boiling oil.

DSCF8048

One or two drops of batter floated to the top, but the remaining batter formed an encasement around the onion that made for the most delicious onion rings I’ve ever had. The batter, although quite thick around the onion, was still light and flaky.

DSCF8052

Onion dipped in flour on left; no flour on right.

 

I’ve made beer batter onion rings in the past, and they turned out good, but this recipe and the way it held to the onions made these “company worthy.”  Even Hubby told me that although he liked my old onion rings, these new ones were so much better.

Beer Batter Mix

DSCF8050

1 1/4 Cups Flour

2 tsp. Salt

1 tsp. Paprika

1/2 tsp. Baking Powder

1 12 oz. Can of Beer

Combine mix and beer in bowl and whisk until smooth.  Dip onions, fruit, or meat in milk or water, dredge through flour, and then dip in batter.  Deep fry until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes for onions, turning once.

This recipe was so good I can’t wait to use it again.  The way the family went for these onion rings, I know I’ll be making them again real soon.

Using the experience I have gained by spending years in the kitchen to improve upon an old favorite is one of the most fulfilling aspects of being a housewife, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

6 responses

  1. Oh my. ….such marvelous looking delights! I took a moment to acknowledge you today on my blog for inspiring me to make strawberry jam. You are always so busy in the kitchen and I appreciate all of your good tips and ideas. 😊

Leave a Reply

