Doughnuts for Breakfast

Doughnuts have been on my baking to do list for years, but I have never found the time I thought was involved in making them to attempt this project.  This morning, being tired of all the regular breakfast fare, I opted to finally give them a try.

Whenever I think of preparing a bread recipe that requires yeast, I envision something that will take the better part of a day to complete.  Never-ending kneading, hours of waiting for the dough to rise, and intricate instructions that need to be followed diligently. The doughnuts I made today had none of those characteristics.  This kneading was done by a mixer, the instructions were quick and simple, and the doughnuts took less than 2 hours to prepare from beginning to setting on the table.

Yeast Doughnuts

DSCF8059

3/4 Cups Milk

1/2 Cup Sugar

1/4 tsp. Salt

2 1/4 tsp. Active Dry Yeast

1/4 Cup Warm Water

4 Cups Flour

1/3 Cup Melted Butter

2 Eggs

Oil for Deep Frying

  • Heat milk to near boiling.  Combine hot milk, sugar, and salt in medium Set aside for 5 minutes.
  • Add 2 cups flour to milk mixture and beat until blended.
  • In small bowl dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add to milk mixture along with eggs and melted butter.
  • Mix in the remaining flour 1/2 cup at a time until dough forms.  Knead with dough hooks in mixer for 3-4 minutes.
  • Place dough in oiled bowl and allowed to double in size (about 40 minutes).
  • Roll dough out to 1/2 inch thickness on lightly floured surface.  Cut into circles and let rise for additional 30 minutes.
  • Heat 1 inch of oil to 375 in frying pan.  Fry donuts until golden brown on both sizes.  Drain on paper towel.
  • Glaze while warm.
  • I made two types of glaze for these donuts.  The first was the traditional confectioners’ sugar glaze made with 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar mixed with 3 tbsp. milk.  The second was a chocolate confectioners’ sugar glaze made with 1 cup of sugar, 2 tbsp. cocoa, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 3 tbsp. milk.

This recipe came together with ample time to serve for breakfast before everyone went off running to do their own things.  They were not as sweet as the doughnuts bought from bakeries and had more substance to them, but were not what I would call heavy.

DSCF8057

I can’t wait to try making these again and filling them with fruit or jam and possibly making a Boston creme version as well.  With this new recipe on the books, I have another option for breakfast, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

    • My fear was that if I made them and the family liked them too much, I’d never be able to get out of making breakfast again by sending someone out to grab some donuts real quick. My fears have been realized.

      Oh well, such is my life. Whenever I find something that anyone likes to eat that I don’t make, I am compelled to find out how to make it and then try to make it even better. Hubby told me this morning “Well, I have no desire to ever eat a store-bought doughnut again.” Great compliment, but a double edged sword.

Leave a Reply

