Feta & Crackling Crackers

I absolutely hate cleaning out my refrigerator.  This would explain why when I do finally face this ugly beast there are usually quite a few things I end up throwing out.  No matter how careful I am when buying groceries and planning how every ingredient is going to be used, there is always something left that for some reason or other I can’t find a use for.

This year I have been trying to eliminate the waste.  So far I have been able to use up nearly all of our leftovers, with only an occasional plastic bowl slipping to the back of the fridge into the abyss.  More and more ingredients, too, have been used up.  In fact, I have gotten in the habit of planning meals around what’s in the refrigerator rather than just what I feel like cooking that day.

Today, as I was digging into the depths of Death Valley (my refrigerator), I happened across a half package of feta cheese, a small bag of cracklings, and a chunk of sharp white cheddar cheese that was definitely on its way out. What could I possibly make with these ingredients?  The one thing that came to mind right away was – Crackers.

Feta & Crackling Crackers

DSCF8099

2 Sticks Butter

4 oz. Feta Cheese

1/2 Cup Shredded White Cheddar

1 Cup Shredded Cracklings

2 Cups Flour

Place all ingredients in food processor.  Pulse until coarse crumbs.  Process until dough forms.

Dump contents of food processor onto lightly floured surface and pat down to 1/2″ thick.  With small biscuit cutter cut out crackers and place on parchment lined cookie sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees for 12-14 minutes.

Three less things in the trash and a bowl of crackers to snack on, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

