Small Successes – Rice Krispie Caramel Chip Cookies

I have been in a bit of a funk lately.  Well, more than a bit really.  To be honest, it has been a rather upsetting couple of weeks and although nothing has been solved or resolved, I am pushing myself to move forward and stop allowing my entire life to be affected by other people’s actions.

I don’t know about you, but when one aspect of my life is in upheaval, every aspect of my life follows suit.  This is exactly what has been happening around here for the better part of more than two weeks.  It started with some issues with my parents, then infiltrated my time in the kitchen, and finally took a toll on the gardens.  It is time to regain the control that I relinquished and start gluing the pieces of what feels like a crumbling world back in place.

Last night, while I sat for yet another evening staring at the computer screen unable to put words to my feelings, Hubby noticed my continuing spiral downward teetering between depression and exasperation.  He isn’t one to attack my moods head-on.  He’s learned from experience that when I’m upset, it’s best to use stealth techniques. So while we were sitting on the couch, scanning the television guide for something to watch, he told me he was having terrible cravings for sugar.

Now Hubby, although he loves sweets, tries to keep his intake to a minimum and will quite often ask me NOT to make desserts.  Having sweets around continually is too much of a temptation while he is trying to maintain his “girlish figure” as he puts it. Of course the fact that he mentioned he wanted something sugary, immediately set my mind to racing with the possibilities.

It just so happened that I had pulled out several recipes for a new cookie I wanted to try, but just couldn’t find the motivation to drag myself out to the kitchen for fear of another failure. For the past two weeks it seems as though every new recipe I’ve tried has been a complete failure. One was so utterly awful that I literally dumped the meat into a strainer, rinsed it with hot water to remove all the seasoning, oil, and other ingredients and then buried the meat under chili for chili burgers, thus concealing any lingering hint of the horrid taste that had come from the recipe.  Either I just don’t like Korean Beef or the recipe I used was not any good, but it will be a long time before I ever consider trying that again.

Anyway, Hubby’s request for something made me forget completely about the prior weeks mishaps and I quickly combined a few recipes and whipped up a batch of new cookies.  I wasn’t in the mood for chocolate (which says a lot about my state of mind when even chocolate isn’t appealing) so I opted for caramel. The result was a huge success.  Hubby ate five cookies straight from the cooling rack and then insisted on taking a few to work tonight.

Rice Krispie Caramel Chip Cookies

DSCF8209

1 1/4 Cups Flour

1 tsp. Baking Powder

1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

1/4 Cup Sugar

1 Stick Softened Butter

1 Large Egg

2 tsp. Hot Water

1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla

1 1/2 Cups Rice Krispies

3/4 – 1 Cup Caramel Chips

  • Combine flour, powder, soda, and salt in large bowl.
  • In small bowl, beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy.
  • Add eggs, hot water, and vanilla and beat until combined.
  • Pour sugar mixture into dry ingredients and stir until combined with wooden spoon.
  • Fold in Rice Krispies and caramel chips.
  • Scoop tablespoons of dough onto parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake at 375 for 8 – 9 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheet before moving to cooling rack.  These cookies stick terribly if you do not allow to cool before attempting to move to cooling racks.

It might not seem like much to most people, but Hubby’s little push for me to get back to something he knows I love was just what I needed.  A kick in the pants, if you will. This morning, although my heart was still heavy from pain and anger, I was comforted by the small success I experienced in the kitchen last night, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

8 responses

    • They were really good. The recipes I based mine on used butterscotch chips rather than caramel, so really I think any type of chip would work here. Even chocolate or possibly using dried fruit also. The cookie base has a nice flavor and would complement chips or fruit or nothing at all. The possibilities are endless.

    • I was actually craving something crunchy but don’t like nuts so going through the cupboard came across the cereals. We love rice krispie treats, so why not cookies. They don’t add too much sweetness and definitely do add a great texture.

Leave a Reply

