Sneaking Out For Some Spring

I’m really not very good at this resting thing.  Sitting in the house with my leg elevated and an ice pack set squarely on my knee, is pretty hard to take when outside the world is budding with color and life.

After finishing up dinner this afternoon (we eat dinner at 3:00 Tuesdays and Thursdays), I stole out of the house while Hubby was in the shower and checked out all the flowers in the yard. Spring has definitely sprung!

The plum tree has hundreds of tiny white blossoms itching to explode from their shells.

DSCF8215 DSCF8243

The lilac bushes are packed with growing flower stems.

DSCF8382 DSCF8228

A wild violet popped up out of the blue.

DSCF8376

The hyacinth will probably be in full bloom this weekend.

DSCF8377 DSCF8375 DSCF8244

I transplanted the flower Grace gave me last week, and “Fifi” is doing just fine.  I wanted to name it Daisy, but that choice was vetoed.

DSCF8364

And keeping me company, or shall I say keeping watch to make sure no one caught me as I enjoyed a stint in the fresh air, Bell checked out all the flowers in the yard too.

DSCF8374

 

So, here I am, sitting back on the couch with my leg up, my new knee brace firmly pulled around my leg, and Bell sleeping at me feet.  It was great to get out and enjoy a bit of the wonderful day we’re having.  Tomorrow is supposed to be even nicer, so perhaps I’ll sit on the lounge chair and bird watch for a bit.

It’s difficult being laid up, even if it is only temporarily (I hope), but getting out for a few minutes to get some fresh air and enjoy the day made all the difference, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

 

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

