The Sugar Cookie Quest – Variation #1: Soft Drop Cookies

Sugar Cookies are one of those cookies that pretty much every loves.  What’s not to love?  They are tasty, full of sugar, and typically have icing, decorations, or sprinkles on them.  Does it get any better than that?

The only thing that would make them even better would be to have a recipe that comes together quickly, as many recipes for sugar cookies are quite labor intensive. Although there is a time and place for rolling out cookie dough, cutting it into wonderful shapes, and hand frosting each one intricately — that time and place has yet to reveal itself in my home.  Typically when it comes to baking I want to get in and get out so I can begin my next project.  Not that I don’t enjoy baking — don’t get me wrong I love it.  It’s just that there aren’t enough hours in the day to stop and indulge in long-winded baking projects as often as I want to, so an alternative is required.

Of all the cookies I bake, sugar cookies are the ones that have caused me the most distress. Growing up my father always made the sugar cookie dough used in a cookie press.  I love these cookies and to this day they are my favorite, trouble is I have no luck when it comes to using a cookie press.  I have had no less than six of these gadgets, all different models, types, and makers, and each one I have either broken or not been able to get it to work.  Incompetent?  I suppose so, but there are just some things, such as mechanical inclination, that evade me most of the time.

In order to enjoy the sugar cookies I grew up with, I have been reduced to making the dough, flattening it on the counter, and cutting out shapes.  Sure this is a viable option, but it just isn’t the same, and is certainly not a quick project.

Being that sugar cookie dough is so versatile and able to be used in so many recipes other than just cookies (there really is not such thing as “just cookies” but you get what I mean), I decided it was time to start a quest for sugar cookie recipes that were quick, easy, convenient, and heck, why not even see if I could come up with one I could pop most of the ingredients in a jar.

The first recipe I tried turned out excellent.  It was a soft sugar cookie that took very little time to make, as it is a drop cookie, and even less time for the family to devour. There is still some tweaking to be done, but for now, this one remains in the running for a potential place in my permanent cookie recipe binder.

Soft Drop Sugar Cookies

DSCF8504

Yes, those are Christmas sprinkles! I had some leftover and rather than open a new container…

1/2 Cup Butter, softened

1/2 Cup Vegetable or Peanut Oil

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar

1 Egg

1 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Cream of Tartar

1/4 tsp. Salt

2 1/4 Cups Flour

  • Cream butter, oil, and sugars in large mixing bowl until smooth.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.
  • Add baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt.
  • Add flour slowly with mixer on low.
  • Place heaping teaspoons of dough on parchment lined cookie sheet and top with sprinkles. Bake at 350 for 8 minutes, just until edges start to brown.
  • Remove from oven and let cookies cool on sheet for 3 minutes before removing to cooling rack.

I prepared this recipe using a mixer, as originally instructed, but would prefer not to have to drag out the mixer if I don’t have to.  Next time I make this dough I will not only experiment with combining all the dry ingredients as would be in a jar, but also I will try hand mixing the cookies to see how they turn out.  If this works, I will definitely be putting jars of this cookie mix on the pantry shelf.

For now, I am glad these wonderfully soft and flavorful sugar cookies turned out and I am on my way to finding the perfect sugar cookie recipe, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

