Garden Progress – Tomatoes Are In!

The past couple of weeks have been spent outside as much as possible, planting, preparing, and maintaining the gardens. Last week I finally finished cleaning up the areas on the side of the house where I planned to plant all the tomato plants this year. In all we have 22 plants planted.  I hope these yield enough for all the canning I want to do, but if not, I’ll know better for next year.

There are two areas where I planted tomatoes for canning:

Beefsteak and Better Boy Tomatoes

Beefsteak and Better Boy Tomatoes

Beefsteak and Better Boy Tomatoes

Beefsteak and Better Boy Tomatoes

This area holds the 4th of July tomatoes for Hubby to eat and to share with friends and family:

Fourth of July Tomatoes

Fourth of July Tomatoes

I bought two cherry tomato plants and placed them in pots.  I was a bit humbled when I went to the store to buy tomato plants, because they are much bigger and developed than the ones I grew from seed.  I hope mine catch up.

Cherry Tomatoes

Cherry Tomatoes

I still have several tomato plants that don’t have a home, but want to wait until the ones I planted take and begin to grow.  This way, if any die or stall, I can replace them.  I figure by next week I’ll know if any are going to need replacing and if not, the remainder will go to neighbors or family if they want them.

Leftover tomato plants without a home!

Leftover tomato plants without a home!

So far the tomato plants I’ve transplanted outside seem to be doing okay, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

