Homemade Hamburger Buns In Time For Dinner

Okay, so you’re probably thinking:  Why would anyone want to make homemade hamburger buns?

Well, for one thing, they are awesome!  They taste better than store-bought, they are “homemade,” and best of all, they come together in less than an hour.  Plus, these babies aren’t about to get soggy and fall apart when topped with the juiciest of burgers.

I love making homemade bread for the family.  Trouble is, most of the time I don’t think about it far enough in advance to get the job done in time for dinner.  This wonderful little recipe is perfect for those days when I’ve got just over an hour to pull dinner together, and everyone thinks I spent hours in the kitchen.

Quick & Easy Hamburger Buns

DSCF8505

2 Tbsp. Active Dry Yeast

1 Cup plus 2 Tbsp. Warm Water (110 to 115 degrees)

1/3 Cup Vegetable or Peanut Oil

1/4 Cup Sugar

1 tsp. Salt

3 to 3 1/2 Cups Flour

1 Tbsp. Melted Butter

  1. In large mixing bowl, make a sponge with the yeast, warm water, sugar and 1 cup of flour.  Combine and let sit for 15 minutes.
  2. Add oil, salt and 1 more cup flour.  With dough hooks mix on low until combined.
  3. Slowly add remaining flour until a soft dough forms.
  4. Knead with mixer for 4 -5 minutes until smooth and elastic.
  5. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and divide into 8 pieces.  Shape into balls.  If you want identical size buns, weigh the dough before dividing.
  6. Place balls 3 inches apart on parchment lined insulated baking sheet.  Cover and let rise 30 minutes.
  7. Brush tops with melted butter.  Bake at 425 for 8 – 12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire racks.

Besides being super tasty, these buns are more substantial than store-bought buns.  Where Hubby is able to eat two burgers on store-bought buns, he was only able to eat one and a half with my buns and then complained he was over-full when he did.

One change I think I’ll try next time I make these is to use 1/3 cup melted butter in place of the oil.  I have no idea if it will affect the recipe, but I’d rather use butter than oil whenever I can. Also, I wonder if I can shape them into hot dog buns?  What an awesome bun this would be for Coney dogs!

I seriously doubt I would spend hours in the kitchen to make hamburger buns for burgers on the grill, but an hour? Why not?  Anytime I can replace something store-bought with homemade I’m thrilled, that’s why for this recipe I am — Simply Grateful.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Pretzel Rolls – Success and Failure All In One | Simply Grateful Cooking

Leave a Reply

