Preparing For Frost

Gotta love Michigan weather!  So, it’s the middle of May and yes, frost is predicted for tonight.  So much for the Farmer’s Almanac which predicted the last frost for my part of Michigan to be May 8th.  Now I get to do my best to cover all the plants I’ve dared plant in the gardens so they don’t shrivel up and die.

The pepper plants in front of the patio and on the side of the house are all covered:

DSCF8551DSCF8553

The pepper plants on the side of the house aren’t doing so hot as it is, so even the slightest frost would probably do them in.

As for the tomatoes, well they seem to be taking pretty well to their new home on the west side of the house and are thriving in all the wonderful afternoon sun they’ve been getting.  These are all going to be covered tonight. Thankfully I have just enough milk cartons to get the job done.

DSCF8580 DSCF8581

The cucumbers, spinach and kale are covered with a sheet.  I hope this insulates them enough through the night.  I’ll be out first sun to make sure nothing moved during the night so I can water them down if frost sneaks under there.

DSCF8574

All of the corn popped up as well as the new pumpkin seeds I sowed directly in the soil, so these too are covered with a sheet.  They came up fairly quick so even if they do get hit by the frost and stall, I will most definitely replant.  I don’t want to have to do the work, but at least I’m early enough that I have the time if needed.

DSCF8577

As for the peas, they should be okay and be able to tolerate the frost, so they are on their own.

DSCF8575

I was torn when it came to the root garden.  Although the beets, turnips, radish, carrot, and parsnip all grow better in cooler temperatures, I’m not sure they would survive a hard frost.  I covered them too, just to be sure.  I’ve spent a lot of time sowing the seeds, weeding, and thinning these already this year and do not want all that effort going to waste.

The sheet was too short to cover one row of radish and the turnips.  I'll get out in the morning with water if need be for those.

The sheet was too short to cover one row of radish and the turnips. I’ll get out in the morning with water if need be for those.

I didn’t cover the garlic or the bean gardens, as neither of these have sprouted yet.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the seeds are deep enough not to notice the frost.

Garlic

Garlic

Bean Garden

Bean Garden

Although covering all the plants I’ve dared to plant outside already this spring is a bit time-consuming, I am very happy that so much of the garden is already in the ground.  With two more areas left to plant, the greenhouse is looking empty except for the canning peppers that I don’t dare plant in the garden until the end of the month and a few extra seedlings just in case what’s been planted in the ground doesn’t make it.

Michigan weather is a tricky one, but I’m prepared for it, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

One response

Leave a Reply

