2015 Strawberry Canning #1 – Strawberry Syrup

The worst part of canning is not having anything to can.  Last year I canned nearly every recipe I could find that called for strawberries which has left me with very few choices this year.  Of everything I canned, there is still ample amounts of everything in the pantry except Strawberry Syrup.  I have one jar left which will be opened Friday morning when I make fresh waffles for breakfast, so Strawberry Syrup was the one “must make” with the strawberries I picked the other day.

Homemade Strawberry Syrup

DSCF9522

10 Cups Hulled and Chopped Strawberries

3 Cups Water

3 Cups Sugar

1 Tbsp. Lemon Juice

4 Tbsp. Clear Jel mixed with 1/2 Cup Water

  • Put strawberries, water, sugar and lemon juice in large stock pot.  Bring to boil and boil with lid on for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and puree with stick blender.
  • Strain pureed strawberries through a food mill or fine mesh strainer, reserving juice. Press pulp in strainer to release as much liquid as possible.
  • Return strained juice to stock pot.  Add Clear Jel slurry and return to boil for 1 minutes.
  • Ladle into hot jars and process in water bath for 10 minutes.
  • This recipe made 7 – 12 oz. jars and one 4 oz.

This syrup is not sugary-sweet, but rather tart with a strong fresh strawberry taste.  If you prefer a sweeter syrup, feel free to add another cup or two of sugar prior to straining.

As much as I love having a full, stocked pantry, I also love to make fresh canned goods to update and maintain it.  Most of the strawberry canned goods I made last year are still holding strong, so now that the syrup is replenished, I can start playing with some new recipes I wanted to try but never got to last year, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

Leave a Reply

