Their Love Can Weather Any Storm

DSCF9695

This afternoon we had some severe thunderstorms hit our area. The rain came down in buckets, thunder and lightning filled the sky, and the streets quickly filled with water.

As I sat listening to the storm in our great room, I suddenly heard the distinct cooing of a morning dove. I carefully opened the shade on the window overlooking the A-frame in the cucumber garden and there on top of the structure were two soaking wet morning doves.

DSCF9677 DSCF9681 DSCF9685

This couple must have gotten stuck in the storm.  I am not sure if it’s true, but I heard that birds will not fly in a storm. Seeing this pair of birds patiently sitting in the rain, not daring to fly, makes me think this may be so.

For more than an hour the rain pounded them, but neither made any move to leave.

DSCF9689 DSCF9692

Not until the rain stopped and they had fluffed themselves somewhat dry, did they take flight.

DSCF9700

The most wonderful part of watching this scene was that when this couple did take flight, they did it together. First they flew to a fence just beyond the A-frame, then to a fence at the end of my neighbors property,

DSCF9710

and then finally into the safety of a pine tree.  All the while, they were together, never faltering, as one.

Love can be found everywhere, but today it was right outside my window and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

2 responses

    • I am too! I was so afraid as I pulled up the blind that they would get startled and fly off, but they hardly even noticed. It was a wonderful treat to share in their world for a bit.

Leave a Reply

