2015 Strawberry Canning #4 – Strawberry Gel

One of the most versatile and commonly used strawberry concoctions that I can is strawberry glaze or gel. I use this from strawberry pie to strawberry Belgium waffles to a substitute for strawberry syrup to strawberry ice cream topping to strawberry shortcake. It can be used for practically anything and in a pinch, I probably have.

Strawberry glaze/gel is sold in the stores all year-long, but in my opinion, the store-bought versions taste like perfume. I know that may sound like a weird correlation, because who actually eats perfume, but that is the best description I can make of the taste. Homemade gel is so much better and being that I use Clear Jel to make it, it’s ready to use right out of the jar.

Strawberry Glaze/Gel

DSCF9547

16 Cups Sliced Strawberries

12 Cups Water

1/2 Cup Lemon Juice

10 Cups Sugar

1 Cup Clear Jel mixed in 1 Cup Water

Combine strawberries and 12 cups water in large stock pot. Bring to boil and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes. Run cooked berries through food mill or strainer and return juice to stock pot (I got 22 cups of juice after straining).

Add lemon juice and sugar and bring to near boil.

Combine Clear Jel with water and add slurry to stock pot.  Bring to boil and boil for 1 minute. Ladle into hot jars, seal and process in water bath canner for 10 minutes.

The pantry is stocked with 16 pints of Strawberry Glaze. I am thrilled and looking forward to a winter full of strawberry goodness, and for this I am —Simply Grateful.

2 responses

  1. I am so glad you posted this I have wondered about making this and other fruit jell before and I will try this for sure… do you buy the clear jell on line or local? it that the common name or the product name?

    • I buy mine online. I access it through Amazon, but they direct me to a website to buy directly. Clear Jel/Gel is the name of the product. There are several manufacturers of it. I buy the #10 cans from Rainy Day Foods for around $20 including delivery. It’s 4 pounds and goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

