Tuesday Morning Harvest

Heading out to the root garden this morning I was faced with a jungle of weeds intertwined with beets, carrots, turnips, and parsnips.

DSCF9870

By the time I was done weeding and picking, things were a bit more manageable.

DSCF9872

Now I have long, round and yellow beets to can.

We also have a bunch of turnips to figure out what to do with. I’m not sure I’ll plant as many turnips next year, as we cannot seem to eat them as fast as they ripen, and none of us care for them cooked. That’s okay, at least they were a successful crop and now that we’ve tasted home-grown turnips, I doubt we’ll ever eat the store-bought versions again.

DSCF9874

Besides the root garden, I also spent a little time in the pea garden picking early peas. After I can the beets, I’m going to shell these and freeze them, unless I figure out something for dinner that they’ll make a good accompaniment for.

DSCF9878

Getting out in the garden nice and early to beat the sun and heat, as well as harvest fresh vegetables to can later in the day, is a great way to start the day, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

4 responses

  1. just love peas from the garden our family loves creamed peas and baby potatoes with a slice of ham or pork chops…. I have made it with regular potatoes also but sometime we have the tiny ones ready to eat about the time the peas are ready.

    • That sounds so good. I’ve been using them every chance I get, although no one in the family likes them as much as I do. I used them in chicken pot pie last week with fresh scallions and carrots from the garden too. It is so fulfilling to feed the family from the bounty we are getting from the garden.

  2. Ooh the ham and creamed peas sound good.your garden produce looks great. We have to wait so long into summer for our harvests to come through. When our peas ripen, we know it is stir fry time.

Leave a Reply

