Don’t Beet Me Up With The Facts!

Last week I harvested about half of my first crop of beets for the year. I planted three different types this year and although they might not have been as large as they could have been, I wanted to pick them while they were young, small and sweet.

The round beets were between 2 and 3″ in diameter. Perfect for the Beet Slicer and not a bit woody.

DSCF9876

The long beets ranged from 3 – 6″ long and for the most part were not woody.  I did notice that the longer they got, the more of a tendency they had to be woody, so picking them before they get too large is a good thing.

DSCF9875

The golden beets were few and small, but so beautiful.

DSCF9877

I absolutely loved how they looked in contrast to the red/purple beets after I cooked them for canning.

DSCF9885

Of course Grace had to burst my bubble when she came in and saw the golden beets sitting in the bowl of red beets by informing me, “You know, they are just going to turn purple if you can them all together.” She told me this after I’d told her I thought the yellow beets would look so cool in the jars of pickled beets in contrast to all the purple.

DON’T TELL ME THAT! THAT’S NOT WHAT I WANTED TO HEAR!

Sometimes the truth hurts. She was right. Unfortunately there were so few golden beets, which the package warned me that they were much harder to grow than round or long beets, that there weren’t enough to can even a small jar of just golden beets. Oh well, maybe when I make the final harvest of the first round of beets next week I’ll have just enough for a jar or even half a jar of just golden beets. If not, I’ll always have the pictures of the freshly peeled beets all sitting together so nicely before I canned them.

DSCF9945

One batch of Pickled Beets packed away in the pantry, 7 pints, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

6 responses

    • They didn’t come up as well as the other beets, but there are still some in the ground that I’m hoping will grow large enough for one jar. If I had more room for more beets I’d put in two rows next year…so begins another garden expansion.

Leave a Reply

