Canning Is A Learning Process

One aspect of canning that I never get tired of is the fact that no matter how long I’ve been doing it, there is always something new to learn.

This year while canning whole plums I decided to take the time to test hot packing plums versus raw packing them. The results were surprising and enlightening, see today’s post on Simply Grateful Canning on Canning Whole Plums.

I am so glad I took the time to find out why one method might be better than the other and didn’t just take the quick, easy route (raw pack). Had I done that, I never would have realized that there is a better way and the reasons why it is better.

I never get tired of learning new things, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

7 responses

  1. Good for you. I had forgotten how my mother used to purchase things like cherries and peaches and such and preserve them for winter so we didn’t have to purchase them. Great reminder, and your plums were home grown, so much better. I bet you will enjoy them!!

  2. I love all of the information you provide- most especially regarding canning. Canning is something I am self-taught at but I am very limited in my experiences through I plan to expand my horizons! Your posts are very encouraging and full of a variety of experiences and ideas. Thank you ♡♡

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. It is nice to know that my efforts blogging are appreciated. I am actually printing off the posts on canning and putting together a cookbook of sorts for my daughter. Not that she’ll can, as she tells me that’s what she has me for, but at least she’ll have it to pass down to her children if she has them someday down the line or when I’m gone and she longs for some of mom’s homemade preserves.

  3. Of all jarred products, canned whole fruits always seemed to me to be the most exotic and decorative. These jars look down right elegant. It’s a crime to put them in a panty. They should be left out on display all year round. Great work!

Leave a Reply

