The Fifth Day of Christmas

On the fifth day of Christmas I made for the first time…

Gingerbread Men!

DSCF2832

Can you believe it? I had never made gingerbread cookies before yesterday! Have I deprived my family or what?

Honestly, the reason I never tackled this cookie was because I found them to be completely intimidating. The rolling, the cutting, the baking, the decorating — it all added up to “I don’t have that kind of time — not during the holidays!”

Well, with the 12 days of Christmas carrying on beyond Christmas day, I decided this was the year to give this traditional Christmas cookie a shot. I did cheat just a bit, as I didn’t make my own Royal icing but rather opted to buy cookie decorating frosting. In my defense though, I wasn’t sure the family would even like these cookies, so why spend the time making the icing. Cookie icing could be put on next year’s to do list.

The cookie dough came together very quickly in my food processor and set up faster than I thought it would in the freezer, making this project far less time-consuming than I planned. In less than an hour I was decorating and the family was taste-testing homemade gingerbread men. You can check out the recipe and step-by-step instructions at Simply Grateful Cooking Homemade Gingerbread Men Cookies.

Hubby loved the cookies, but without any frosting; Zeb loved the cookies with tons of frosting; and Grace, well she said they tasted similar to molasses cookies and being that they are not her favorite or even close, she probably won’t be eating too many of these. Decorating the cookies though was definitely fun everyone.

I am so glad I finally bit the bullet and made gingerbread men. Next year I am looking forward to doing this again and possibly experimenting with other cookie cutter shapes and even using some of these as ornaments on the Christmas tree. How Christmasy will that look? And dare I say, try my hand at a homemade gingerbread house!

The house is filled with the spicy scent of gingerbread, and for this I am — Simply Grateful.

8 responses

  1. I started making them just a few years ago… Christopher insisted… so we now make them every Christmas… love to make them with different cook dough to, some times we make them with snicker doodle dough with extra flour just because they are my favorite…. I love the smell too some thing wonderful about it!

  2. Yay! So glad your gingerbread men came out! I love gingerbread in all its forms. These would be fantastic on a Christmas tree – and good luck with the gingerbread house next year. That was one experiment I could never get to work properly (probably because I like softer cookies, not crispy ones…..). Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you! I read that you can’t use the same recipe for a gingerbread house as you do for cookies. The gingerbread is harder and therefore stronger for a house. I’m excited to try it, but it definitely won’t be until next year.

  3. I’m like freshlygourndhome. I grew up not liking hard, cracker type cookies – gingersnaps, gingerbread, etc. But then, quite a few Christmases ago, I was gifted with some very special, but very hard, homemade gingerbread men cookies. What to do???
    Well, I was gifted the cookies during an evening shift that I was working outside that year. At the end of the shift I got some hot cocoa to warm up. I was also very hungry. And that’s how I found out that gingerbread men cookies are the perfect cookie for dunking into hot cocoa! The cocoa softens the cookie up but, since it’s hard to begin with, it doesn’t fall apart. And the way that the two flavors blend; well, it’s Christmas heaven. What a happy accident!
    Now I love gingerbread men cookies as long as I can get a side of hot cocoa. And I’m with hubby, no icing, just lots of rich, hot cocoa. To me they are inseparable. And so very Christmas …

Leave a Reply

